Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Diversity honoured at NZ Music Awards

October 5, 2005

Diversity honoured at the 2005 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards

Click for big version

Click for big version

Dave Dobbyn and friends (including Ahmed Zaoui)


An exciting mix of new and seasoned Kiwi music talent has taken home the 21 Tui Awards at the 2005 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards announced tonight (Wednesday October 5) at the Aotea Centre-THE EDGE® in Auckland.

The unique sounds of Wellington’s Fat Freddy’s Drop on the platinum-selling album Based On A True Story earn the seven-piece band four Tuis, the most on the night.

The self-styled ‘Pacific purveyors of hi-tek soul’ receive awards for The PlayStation®2 SingStar™ Album of the Year, Best Aotearoa Roots Album and Coke Fridge Best Group. The band picks up an additional Tui for the Vodafone People’s Choice Award.

Other multiple winners are Yulia, P-Money and Dei Hamo, all with two Tuis.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Yulia is a first time (double) winner for Best Female Solo Artist and the 42BELOW Highest Selling New Zealand Album for her debut album Into The West.

P-Money takes home two Tuis for Best Male Solo Artist and Durex Best Urban / Hip Hop Album for Magic City. P-Money collected two Tuis in 2004 for Best Producer (Scribe’s – The Crusader) and Songwriter of the Year for the Not Many – The Remix (co-written with Scribe, Con Psy & Savage).

The Highest Selling New Zealand Single is We Gon Ride by Dei Hamo. Dei Hamo is also a co-winner with Chris Graham in the C4 Best Music Video category, again for the We Gon Ride video.

There was a tie for the Tui in the Best Classical Album category with the judges unable to separate Jonathan Lemalu’s Opera Arias and The Complete Piano Music of Douglas Lilburn, Volume 1 by Dan Poynton.

Young North Shore (Auckland) rockers The Checks get the nod for Clean & Clear® Breakthrough Artist of the Year with What You Heard.

Breaks Co-Op – aka Andy Lovegrove, Zane Lowe and Hamish Clark – nabs KIWI Single of the Year for The Otherside from platinum selling album The Sound Inside.

Best Dance / Electronica Album goes to Del Rey System – aka Dean Godward – for his self-titled album which Godward describes as ‘a journey from Hip Hop to Garage to House and Latin infused flavours’.

Shihad pays a long-overdue visit to the Tui stage for Best Rock Album Love Is The New Hate. This is the band’s fifth album, Shihad last collected a Tui in 2001 when the four-piece band won its second International Achievement Award.

Dave Dobbyn continues on his way as an inspirational force in New Zealand music taking The New Zealand Herald Songwriter of the Year Award for Welcome Home.

Three International Achievement Awards presented this year go to the Finn Brothers, Scribe and Evermore.

Recording Industry Association of New Zealand (RIANZ) music awards spokesperson Adam Holt says presenting three International Achievement Awards this year is a breakthrough for the industry and a sure sign of our growing confidence on the world stage.

“It’s great to see such a wide selection of artists being honoured this year and it is truly reflective of what has been a great year in music.

“Forty years on from the first Loxene Golden Disc Award, tonight highlights the amazing development of the New Zealand Music Industry and the pride New Zealand has in its talented artists, songwriters and performers,” Mr Holt says.


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.