Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Chapman Tripp Theatre Award Nominees

Chapman Tripp Theatre Award Nominees

Chapman Tripp are delighted to announce the nominees for the 16th annual Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards.

Two New Zealand plays, Home Land by Gary Henderson and The Hollow Men by Dean Parker have topped the nomination list for 2007 collectively taking 11 nominations across the 20 categories including nominations for; New NZ Play of the year, Actor of the Year, Director of the Year and Production of the Year.

Nominees have been selected from over 80 professional New Zealand productions performed in Wellington, by a panel of theatre critics from the following publications: New Zealand Listener, The Dominion Post, Capital Times, Theatreview and The Lumiére Reader.

The award categories and nominees in each category are as follows:

Montana Wines Award for Most Original Production of the Year

  • Hotel –

  • Settling – A Slightly Isolated Dog and BATS Theatre

  • Turbine – SEEyD Company

Downstage Theatre Award for the Most Promising Male Newcomer
of the Year

  • Aaron Cortesi – Settling

  • Michael Whalley – The Cape

  • Martyn Wood – Sexual Perversity in Chicago

Circa Award donated by TACT for the Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year

  • Laurel Devenie – The Graduate

  • Jodie Hillock – Home Land

  • Kate Prior – The Winslow Boy

Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School & Victoria University of Wellington Award for the Most Promising New Director of the Year

  • Rachel Lenart – A Bright Room Called Day

  • Leo Gene Peters – Strange Resting Places

  • Willem Wassenaar– Angels in America Part 1: Millennium Approaches*

The Dominion Post Award for Costume Designer of the Year

  • Gillie Coxill – Uncle Vanya

  • Zoë Fox – Who Needs Sleep Anyway?

  • Paul Jenden – Monarchy the Musical

Theatrelight Award for Lighting Designer of the Year

  • Jennifer Lal – Othello

  • Marcus McShane – A Bright Room Called Day

  • Martyn Roberts – Maui – One Man Against the Gods

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year

  • John Hodgkins – Fat Pig

  • Brian King – The Hollow Men

  • Daniel Williams – Angels in America Part 1: Millennium Approaches*

Western Audio Engineering Award for Sound Designer of the Year

  • Gil Eva Craig – Turbine

  • Stephen Gallagher – Shining City

  • Emile De la Rey – A Bright Room Called Day

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Award for Outstanding Composer of

  • Gareth Farr – Maui - One Man Against the Gods

  • Suzy Hawes – The Bowler Hat

  • Michael Nicholas Williams – Aladdin

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year Sponsored by BATS and Taki Rua

  • Brian Hotter – Pig Hunt

  • Charlotte Simmonds– The Story of Nohome Neville and Unwholesome Clare who Worked in Kitchens and Smelt like a Dish

  • Rob Mokaraka and Paolo Rotondo – Strange Resting Places

The Absolutely Positively Outstanding New New Zealand Play
of the Year

  • The Hollow Men– Dean Parker (adap. From the book by Nicky Hager
  • )
  • Home Land – Gary Henderson

  • Turbine – SEEyD Company (Nick Dunbar, Rachel Forman, Emma Kinane & Tim Spite)

Orbit Corporate Travel Award for Supporting Actress of the Year

  • Erin Banks – King Lear

  • Jennifer Ludlam – Othello

  • Lyndee-Jane Rutherford – The Hollow Men

Chapman Tripp Award for Supporting Actor of the Year

  • Toby Leach – Fat Pig

  • Gavin Rutherford – Uncle Vanya

  • Simon Vincent – Othello

In the performance categories which are:

  • EAT Wellington Accolade for Outstanding Performance
  • Grouse Lighting Accolade for Outstanding Performance
  • Chapman Tripp Award for Actress of the Year
  • Gail Cowan Management Award for Actor of the Year

There are 7 nominees:

  • Michele Amas – Home Land

  • Mel Dodge – Uncle Vanya

  • Rachel Forman – Blackbird

  • Emma Kinane – Fat Pig

  • Emmet Michael Kennedy – Shining City

  • Tim Spite – Turbine

  • Grant Tilly – Home Land

Radio Active’s 89FM Caffeine and Aspirin Show Award for Director of the Year

  • Jonathon Hendry– The Hollow Men

  • Conrad Newport – The Cape

  • Jane Waddell – Home Land

Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year

  • Home Land – Circa Theatre

  • The Hollow Men– Hollow Men Productions

  • Strange Resting Places – Taki Rua Productions

The winner of the Mayor's Award for Significant Contribution to the Theatre will be announced at the ceremony on the night.

*Note: Angels In America was an Almost A Bird Collective presentation of a Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School graduation production. The critics’ panel has determined that individual professionals engaged to work in this show qualify for nomination while the production itself remains an ‘undergraduate’ work.

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards will be held on Sunday 2nd December, 6:30pm at the Duxton Hotel Ballroom.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Estère At San Fran

Appearing at Wellington's San Fran to promote her new single, Calculated Risk, the local musician sutured together a highly impressive set of syncopated soul beats, weaving a brilliant dance cloth of iridescent splendour.More>>

Back On The Stairway To Heaven: Led Zeppelin Wins Over Spirit

In March, the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeal upheld an original jury finding that Led Zeppelin’s Stairway to Heaven did not infringe copyright in Spirit’s 1968 song Taurus. Michael Skidmore, who had filed the suit in 2014 as trustee of the ... More>>

Amazon Original: Borat Subsequent Moviefilm - Trailer And Launch Date




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland