Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


2008 Billy T Award Nominees

Please welcome to the stage the 2008 Billy T Award Nominees

The annual quest to find New Zealand’s most promising new comedic talent has begun. A record number of comedians fought it out to secure a coveted spot for the 2008 Billy T Award, the most respected and long-standing award in New Zealand Comedy.

Inspired by and named after New Zealand’s much-loved legendary comedian – Billy T James, the Billy T Awards are an initiative of the New Zealand Comedy Trust and part of the NZ International Comedy Festival; with the aim to ensure continued growth of live comedy in NZ.

The NZ International Comedy Festival are delighted to announce the nominees for next year’s prestigious Billy T Award – drum roll please…


Steve Wrigley: ‘Best Comic’ and ‘best MC’ at the 2006 Wellington Comedy Awards as well as the ‘Spirit of the Festival’ award in the 2006 NZ International Comedy Festival.

Simon McKinney: Performed in the 2007 Crunchie Comedy Gala as well as ‘The Big Show’, a 3-night gig in the Comedy Chamber at the 2007 New Zealand International Comedy Festival.

Jim Brown: Voted ‘Best Newcomer’ at the 2006 New Zealand Comedy Guild awards.

The Lonesome Buckwhips: Won the ‘Best Comedy’ award at the Wellington Fringe Festival.

Grant Lobban: A 2007 Billy T Nominee, Lobban returns to deliver audiences more of his special brand of entertainment.

The nominations for this award recognise and support New Zealand comedians with outstanding potential who display commitment to their given comedy field. The winner of The Billy T Award receives a $5000 cash grant from the New Zealand Comedy Trust.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

The Awards are now in their twelfth year and are a proven benchmark for new comedians. Previous winners have included; Cal Wilson, Ewen Gilmour, Te Radar, Sugar and Spice, Philip Patson, Humourbeasts, Mike Loder, Paul Ego, Brendhan Lovegrove, Jan Maree, Ben Hurley, Dai Henwood, Sam Wills, Cori Gonzalez Macuer and mrs peacock.

The 2008 nominees were selected on their proven comedic ability, talent, dedication, current form and potential, and will be judged on all aspects of their Festival show. Final judging will take place at the LAST LAUGH, Festival Awards night on Sunday 11 May 2008.

The 2007 Billy T judging panel includes

Louise Hunter – BLP Ltd, comedy promoter
John McDonald – Head of Sport & Light Entertainment at TV3
Nigel McCullagh – Down Low Concept
Michele A’Court – Comedian
Jon Bridges – Comedian/ producer/ director

The Billy T Award is part of the 2008 New Zealand International Comedy Festival, which plays:

Auckland: 18 April – 11 May 2008
Wellington: 20 April – 10 May 2008


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.