Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


The Datsuns Deliver Their Death Rattle Boogie

The Datsuns Deliver Their Death Rattle Boogie on 10 Year Anniversary

The Datsuns, New Zealand’s most internationally applauded
rock ‘n’ roll band, release their 5th studio album,
Death Rattle Boogie, ten years to the day
of releasing their highly acclaimed self-titled debut.
They release a new music video and offer a free song download to celebrate.

2002 saw The Datsuns catapulted into the international music scene with the release of their debut record and being hailed by the British press as “the future of rock”. Being plastered on the cover of one of the world’s biggest music publications and making 6 o’clock news back home in NZ, was more than the band were ever expecting. The decade since has seen The Datsuns produce another three studio albums, tour the world many times and play some of the biggest music festivals on the planet.

Cut to 2012 and The Datsuns are ready to launch the album they are most proud of to date. Recorded in Sweden at lead singer Dolf De Borst’s Gutterview studios, and at Neil Finn’s Roundhead studios in Auckland ‘Death Rattle Boogie’ took shape under the watchful hand of Nicke Andersson, ex member of Swedish hard-rockers, The Hellacopters.

“As I’ve got older, I’ve realized the album is a band’s legacy,” says Dolf, of the mindset behind Death Rattle Boogie. “It’s what you leave behind.”

This realisation of legacy honed focus on the production of the album and the band made the most of being in the lead singer’s own studio.

Dolf elaborates, “Trying different things in the studio that you can’t do live, and dissecting records that I really love and working out, ‘How did they do that’… So we’ve tried to make things sound a little weirder and wilder, instead of just setting up and pressing record.”

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

To mark the announcement The Datsuns are giving away an album track, ‘Gods Are Bored’ via their website www.thedatsuns.com where fans will also get the first look at the song’s music video. With more news to follow, including the first official single to be released in the coming weeks, fans from around the globe will be chomping at the bit to get their hands on this one.
The Datsuns – Death Rattle Boogie is to be released on October 5th, 2012
on CD, LP and digital formats via Hellsquad / Border Distribution.
The Datsuns are:
· Dolf De Borst – vocals / bass
· Christian Livingstone - guitar
· Phil Somervell – guitar
· Ben Cole – drums


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.