Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Roosters rookies added to Kiwis squad

Roosters rookies added to Kiwis squad

Newcomers Matt McKilwrick, Sio Siua Taukeiaho and Isaac Liu have been brought into the NZ Kiwis train-on squad for the October/November tour of England.

The Sydney Roosters trio are among nine players added to the extended group, after their teams were knocked out of the NRL playoffs last week.

Hooker McKilwrick is originally from the Halswell Hornets in Christchurch and transferred to Sydney from the Canberra Raiders this season. With first-string hooker Jake Friend initially sidelined, he began the season as the Roosters starter.

Second rower Taukeiaho played his junior football with Otara Scorpions and spent time with the NZ Warriors, before joining the Roosters and playing a prominent role, mainly off the interchange bench, as they took out the minor premiership.

Lock Liu also hails from Auckland, playing for the Otahuhu Leopards, and has three international caps for Toa Samoa to his credit.

Clubmates Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Shaun Kenny-Dowall and Sam Moa have also joined the squad, along with Melbourne Storm players Jesse Bromwich, Tohu Harris and Kevin Proctor.

This week’s additions bring the number of Kiwis candidates to 31, with several more involved in Sunday’s NRL Grand Final between Brisbane Broncos and North Queensland Cowboys.

Meanwhile, half Kieran Foran has withdrawn from the squad, opting for off-season rehabilitation of an elbow injury that has troubled him for much of the season.

The touring squad of 23 players will be named on Thursday, October 8.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

The wider Kiwis train-on group is:

Gerard Beale (Cronulla Sharks), Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Lewis Brown (Penrith Panthers), Manaia Cherrington (Wests Tigers), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), Bryson Goodwin (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Peta Hiku (Manly Sea Eagles), Solomone Kata (NZ Warriors), Shaun Kenny-Dowell (Sydney Roosters), Isaac Liu (Sydney Roosters), Tuimoala Lolohea (NZ Warriors), Issac Luke (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Te Maire Martin (Wests Tigers), Ben Matulino (NZ Warriors), Manu Ma'u (Parramatta Eels), Sam McKendry (Penrith Panthers), Matt McKilwrick (Sydney Roosters), Sam Moa (Sydney Roosters), Jason Nightingale (St George Dragons), Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm), Curtis Rona (Canterbury Bulldogs), Tim Simona (Wests Tigers), Sio Siua Taukeiaho (Sydney Roosters), Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Elijah Taylor (Penrith Panthers), Bodene Thompson (NZ Warriors), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters), Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers)


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.