Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


All Terrain Vehicle Racers Claim National Glory

OCTOBER 23, 2018: The nation's quad bike elite put on a show to remember at the 2018 New Zealand ATV (all terrain vehicle) Motocross Championships near Timaru during Labour Weekend.

Run by the Canterbury ATV Association and sponsored by ACM Motorhomes, the two-day spectacle was held at the Backflips Dirt Farm track at Pleasant Point, on the outskirts of Timaru on Saturday and Sunday, and the action was intense right from the beginning, with the usual suspects hammering it out for the premier title.

Host Canterbury ATV Association president Ian Ffitch, the national ATV champion in 2014, was again a contender for the premier class crown, but also once again it was the Keegan brothers from Taranaki, Camo and Scott Keegan, who stood in his way.

Racing was close over Labour Weekend, but, in the end, it was Camo Keegan who came out on top, making it three premier ATV titles in a row.

Scott Keegan, the premier grade champion in 2015, took some consolation by winning the 450cc Production class title, claiming the glory ahead of Christchurch's Taylor Graham and Egmont Village rider Cory Whitelock.

Motorcycling New Zealand ATV commissioner Dennis Cox said the event was well-supported and conditions for racing were perfect.

"We were lucky with the weather. It was a bit sad with the number of entrants in the premier grade being down this year due to injuries, but the racing was still as good as anyone could expect," he said.

"The land owner was really helpful. We had plenty of water down on the track and it got a bit slippery in places. It was a fast track, but we had no serious injuries and some brilliant racing throughout."

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Other title winners were Otorohanga's Amy Corston (women's class); Christchurch's George Doig (250cc production class); Christchurch's Greg Graham (veterans' class); Christchurch's Harrison Graham (125cc class); Blenheim's Lucas Collins (mini kids class); Eltham's Shane Hurliman (clubmens' class).

In addition to sponsorship from ACM Motorhomes, the ATV nationals were supported by Duckmanton AG Limited and Ffitch Racing.


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.