Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Eden Park Crowned ‘International Pitch Of The Year’

Eden Park Turf Team

Eden Park has received recognition for its year-round efforts to create high quality cricket surfaces.

New Zealand Cricket today released its turf management awards for the 2019-20 season and named Eden Park ‘International Pitch of the Year’.

The stadium says the award illustrates endless hours that the nimble turf team spends curating the grounds.

“It’s always a highlight to be acknowledged by the industry for the effort our team puts into creating a world-class surface. Eden Park is home to so many unforgettable cricket moments watched around the globe and a personal highlight was this year’s Auckland Anniversary T20 between the BLACKCAPS and India, which also celebrated India’s Republic Day.

“Cricket has been a staple at the Park since 1903 and it’s pleasing that our turf team continues to be recognised for our commitment to the sport,” says Eden Park Chief Executive Officer Nick Sautner.

The decision took into account reports from the ICC and New Zealand Cricket along with surveys conducted by players associations.

Eden Park will host the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup next year and looks forward to welcoming more cricket fixtures back to the Park as events return to society.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Tui Time: Nominations Open For The 55th New Zealand Music Awards

Ceremony confirmed for November, new Tui announced Recorded Music New Zealand announce nominations are now open for the 55th annual New Zealand Music Awards | Ngā Tohu Puoro o Aotearoa. Damian Vaughan, Recorded Music New Zealand CEO, says it’s more ... More>>

FIFA: Trans-Tasman Hosts For 2023 Women’s World Cup

The awarding of joint hosting rights for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is a landmark decision for women’s sport in our region Prime Ministers Scott Morrison and Jacinda Ardern said. For the first time in history, Australians and New Zealanders ... More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland