Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Top Individual Waikato University Sports Awards

Media Release

World Beaters Win Top Individual Waikato University Sports Awards

Transatlantic race winner and rowing eights captain James Fitzgerald has been named sportsman of the year at Waikato University’s Wallace Corporation University Blues Awards tonight, while sportswoman of the year is world champion shooter Natalie Curtis.

The Mâori sportsperson of the year is netballer Joline Henry, a member of the Fisher and Paykel Silver Ferns in 2004 and a member of the Waikato / BOP Magic Team.

The cultural person of the year is flute player Lorna Wright, a reserve for the 2004 National Youth Orchestra, one of the musicians selected for the Auckland Philharmonia Summer School and the winner of the 2003 LeQuesne and Heywood Trophy for Chamber Music.

The University Blues Awards recognise those who excel in performance of arts and sport or assist in their development at Waikato University. This year’s awards related to achievements between July 2003 and July 2004.

Waikato University also took the opportunity to mark its 40th anniversary year with two special awards to people who have significantly contributed to the development of sport and the performing arts at the university during its first 40 years.

Kevin Bradley was awarded the 40th Anniversary Contribution to Sport Award for his contribution and dedication to the development of university rugby.

Joe Harawira has been awarded the 40th Anniversary Contribution to Culture Award for his contribution and dedication to Te Kapa Haka o Te Whare Wânanga o Waikato since it began in 1978.

Overall, there were more than 100 nominations resulting in 41 people receiving a sporting blue, there were four cultural blues awarded, 10 service to sport medals, and two service to culture medals. For a full list of winners see the table below.

Name Award
Kevin Bradley Coach of the Year Award Rugby
Dileepa Fonseka Cultural Blue Award Debating
Monica Wing Man Chang Cultural Blue Award Performance Piano
Lorna Wright Cultural Blue Award Performance Flute
Candice Visser Cultural Blue Award Drama
EAS Wai Taiko Drummers Cultural Club of the Year Award Japanese Drumming
Lorna Wright Cultural Person of the Year Award Performance Flute
Laurelle Borck Fairplay of the Year Award Netball
Joline Henry Mâori Sportsperson of the Year Award Netball
Marama Killen Service to Culture Award TV Broadcasting and Drama
Fabian Takiari Service to Culture Award Theatre
Margaret Nicholson Service to Sport Award Netball
Carla Hutton Service to Sport Award Soccer
Sandra Blair Service to Sport Award Kickboxing
Yasunori Matsuura Service to Sport Award Kendo
Marleen Charng Service to Sport Award Kendo
Hoturoa Barclay Kerr Service to Sport Award Waka
Te Taka Keegan Service to Sport Award Rugby
Andrew Jia-Yuh Yeh Service to Sport Award Table Tennis
Sarah Devoy Sporting Blue Award Athletics
Monique Williams Sporting Blue Award Athletics
Ben Hill Sporting Blue Award Basketball
Grant Robinson Sporting Blue Award Cricket
Nick Horsley Sporting Blue Award Cricket
Graeme Aldridge Sporting Blue Award Cricket
Thomas Lane Sporting Blue Award Equestrian
James Gill Sporting Blue Award Golf
Sandeep Puna Sporting Blue Award Hockey
Aimee Whitley Sporting Blue Award Judo
Ya-Yi Huang Sporting Blue Award Kendo
Sam Tsai Sporting Blue Award Kendo
Kelly Anne Smith Sporting Blue Award Kickboxing
Oliver Sharp Sporting Blue Award Motorcross
Laurelle Borck Sporting Blue Award Netball
Joline Henry Sporting Blue Award Netball
Amy Tyrrell Sporting Blue Award Artistic Rollerskating
Jamie Fitzgerald Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Candice Bardsley Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Paula Twining Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Nathan Twaddle Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Darnelle Timbs Sporting Blue Award Rowing
David Schumacher Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Bess Halley Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Fiona Paterson Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Paul Gerritsen Sporting Blue Award Rowing
George Bridgewater Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Selwyn Cleland Sporting Blue Award Rowing
Sasho Stosic Sporting Blue Award Rugby League
Nadine Stanton Sporting Blue Award Shooting
Sarah Gibbs Sporting Blue Award SOccer
Michael Bill Sporting Blue Award Squash
Miriam Jenkins Sporting Blue Award Swimming
Chris Wall Sporting Blue Award Touch
Rebecca Hales Sporting Blue Award Touch
Jared Wilson Sporting Blue Award Volleyball
Tamara King Sporting Blue Award Volleyball
Jess Draskau-Petersson Sporting Blue Award Long Distance Triathlon
Dean Armstrong Sporting Blue Award Hockey
Natalie Curtis Sporting Blue Award Shooting
Diane Deihl Sporting Blue Award Artistic Rollerskating
Waikato University Ping Pong Association Sports Club of the Year Award
The University of Waikato Boathouse 8s Crew Sports Team of the Year Award
Jamie Fitzgerald Sportsman of the Year Award Rowing
Natalie Curtis Sportswoman of the Year Award Shooting
Jo Lowry Umpire of the Year Award Hockey
Joe Harawira 40th Anniversary Contribution to Culture Award Kapa Haka
Kevin Bradley 40th Anniversary Contribution to Sport Award Rugby


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Troy Kingi Rules The San Fran

The award-winning Northland musician performed songs from his new record The Ghost of Freddie Cesar, the fourth installment in his 10/10/10 series - ten albums in ten years in ten genres. More>>

Howard Davis: The Phoenix Foundation Rises From The Ashes (& Chris O'Connor Talks)

Simultaneously dreamy and structured, understated and subtle, spacious and hypnotic, The Phoenix Foundation's new album Lifeline includes gorgeous vocal harmonies, lilting lyrics with no lack of wry, self-deprecating humour, and gently weeping guitar parts. More>>

Howard Davis: Estère At San Fran

Appearing at Wellington's San Fran to promote her new single, Calculated Risk, the local musician sutured together a highly impressive set of syncopated soul beats, weaving a brilliant dance cloth of iridescent splendour.More>>

Back On The Stairway To Heaven: Led Zeppelin Wins Over Spirit

In March, the 9th US Circuit Court of Appeal upheld an original jury finding that Led Zeppelin’s Stairway to Heaven did not infringe copyright in Spirit’s 1968 song Taurus. Michael Skidmore, who had filed the suit in 2014 as trustee of the ... More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland