Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Te Rito Maioha to deliver new Montessori qualification

Te Rito Maioha to deliver new Level 5 Aperfield Montessori qualification from 2019

16 April 2018

Aperfield Montessori Trust and Te Rito Maioha Early Childhood New Zealand are pleased to confirm that from approximately February 2019, Te Rito Maioha will deliver the New Zealand Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (Level 5).

Binda Goldsbrough wrote the original Aperfield Montessori Diploma and the Aperfield Trust has delivered the Aperfield Montessori Diploma in Early Childhood Education since 1993.

Following the New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) targeted review of qualifications (TROQ), the original qualification has been replaced on the NZQA framework by the New Zealand Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (Level 5).

The New Zealand Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (Level 5) qualification will retain the focus on teaching the Montessori method of education to children. The programme has been designed for a wide range of students including trained early childhood and primary teachers, unqualified teachers, parents, carers, psychologists and other interested professionals wanting to train in the Montessori method.

The new qualification has been developed by Aperfield Montessori Trust in collaboration with Te Rito Maioha. Characteristics of the Aperfield Montessori approach are reflected in the new qualification. The Aperfield Montessori Trust will provide expert advice to Te Rito Maioha on Aperfield Montessori practices via an advisory group.

Existing students (including those who re-enrol in the current qualification with the Aperfield Montessori Trust) have until 9 December 2019 to complete the current diploma with the Aperfield Montessori Trust. New students will study the New Zealand Diploma in Early Childhood Education and Care (Level 5) with Te Rito Maioha.

New students are encouraged to contact Te Rito Maioha on 0800-244-532 or to register their interest in completing the qualification.

Students who have contacted the Aperfield Montessori Trust and indicated their interest in completing the qualification will be contacted by Te Rito Maioha over the next few weeks.

Te Rito Maioha intends to commence delivery of the new qualification in approximately February 2019. Te Rito Maioha is currently in the process of obtaining NZQA’s approval for the new qualification and accreditation to deliver it. The Te Rito Maioha and Aperfield Montessori Trust websites will be kept up to date to keep students informed.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: 1917's 1,000 Yard Stare

Sam Mendes has created a terrible and barbarous trek, one that we appreciate all the more for being catapulted right into the midst of this ear-splitting melee from the film's opening sequence. More>>

Floorball: NZ To Host World Cup Of Floorball In 2022

In a major coup for a minnow nation in the European-dominated sport of floorball, New Zealand has won the rights to host one of the sport’s marque international events. More>>

National Voyage Continues: Tuia 250 Ends

Tuia 250 has unleashed an unstoppable desire to keep moving forward and continue the kōrero about who we are, say the co-chairs of the Tuia 250 National Coordinating Committee, Dame Jenny Shipley and Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr. More>>


Te Papa: New Chief Executive From Its Own Staff

Courtney Johnston has been appointed as the new Chief Executive of Te Papa. Ms Johnston will take up the role in December 2019. Since its founding, Te Papa has had a dual leadership model, and as Tumu Whakarae|Chief Executive, Johnston will share the leadership with Kaihautū Dr Arapata Hakiwai. More>>


Over 150 Productions: NZ Fringe 2020 Has Launched

The upcoming festival will be held at 40 venues all over Wellington Region from 28 February to 21 March, and includes every genre possible—theatre, comedy, dance, music, clowning, cabaret, visual art, children’s shows and more! More>>





  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland