Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

News Video | Policy | GPs | Hospitals | Medical | Mental Health | Welfare | Search


Spotlight On New Zealand's Energy Leaders

3 September 2002

Spotlight On New Zealand's Energy Leaders

Heather Staley, Chief Executive of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA), today announced the finalists for the 2002 EnergyWise Awards. The EnergyWise Awards recognise leaders in sustainable business practice through energy efficiency and use of renewable energy.

"With the world spotlight focused on the Sustainable Development Summit in Johannesburg, it is timely that we put the spotlight on what is happening in our own backyard.

"New Zealand has some truly innovative businesses who are going the extra mile to find new ways of using energy to the greatest effect, and to ensure their business is a sustainable one. From the 119 entries judged, 42 finalists were selected from whom New Zealand's leaders in sustainability will be identified.

"I congratulate all of the finalists for the effort they have put in, not only in putting together their entries for the awards, but in making energy efficiency a profitable reality in their business," Ms Staley said.

The judges were impressed with the high standard of entries. In selecting the finalists judges were faced with a difficult choice, as so many entries deserve recognition. The entries are judged on the benefits of the project (CO2 reductions, energy efficiency and use of renewable energy), cost effectiveness, innovation, and sustainability (the continuation of the project and the ability for it to be replicated by other businesses).

Last year's Supreme Award winner was The Warehouse. Previous category award winners include Sealord Group, Community Energy Action Trust (Christchurch), Tararua Wind Power Ltd and Rongotai College.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

The winners will be announced at the EnergyWise Awards function to be held at the Sheraton Hotel in Auckland on Thursday 26 September. Tickets are available by visiting www.eeca.govt.nz or by phoning 04 385 1458.


Reporters note: Full list of finalists by category follows.

For further information contact Rachel Dahlberg, EECA, 04 470 2209 or 021 392 431

2002 EnergyWise Awards Finalists List

Industrial/Manufacturing Award for light and heavy manufacturing and processes. Coca Cola Amatil NZ Ltd (Auckland) Degussa Peroxide Ltd (Morrinsville) Ravensdown Fertiliser Co-operative Ltd (Christchurch)

Genesis Energy Commercial/Services Award for facilities occupied by the private sector. Arrow Motel in Nelson CentrePort in Wellington Kiwi Property Management for the Royal & SunAlliance Centre in Auckland The Sheraton Hotel in Auckland Sky City in Auckland

Local Government New Zealand Public Sector Award for central and local government and Crown-funded organisations. Capital and Coast District Health Board Hamilton City Council Hutt Valley District Health Board Manukau City Council Waitakere City Council

Booz Allen Hamilton Transport Award for a demand management or fleet management initiative. Auckland Regional Council Connexionz Limited (Christchurch) Diocesan Car Fund (Wellington) Hamilton City Buses Limited Kohimarama School (Auckland)

Pink Batts Residential Award for an energy efficiency initiative or project.

Hutt Mana Charitable Trust (Lower Hutt) Placemakers Riccarton (Christchurch) Snowy Peak Limited (Christchurch) Te Whare Mahana- Waihopai Runaka Inc (Invercargill)

BP Renewable Energy Award for a project or technology using a renewable energy source. Easteel Industries Ltd (Hastings) Empower Consultants Ltd (Wellington) Lincoln University and Robert and Leighton Jones Pellet Fireplaces and Fuels NZ Ltd (Christchurch)

Transpower Energy Supply Award for supply or demand side energy efficiency initiatives. Mercury Energy Meridian Energy (Manapouri tailrace) Meridian Energy (Meridian exchange) Orion New Zealand Limited (Christchurch) Solahart Industries (Auckland)

Contact Energy Innovation Award for services, products or projects in end use energy efficiency. Beca Carter Hollings and Ferner Ltd for the Hornby Mall (Christchurch) Lincolne Scott Ltd (Auckland) Wellington Regional Council SCADA (Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition system - used by the Water Group) Asset Services Energy Consulting for NZ Post lighting

Energy Managers' Association Energy Manager Award for individuals managing energy accounts over $100,000 pa. Leonid Itskovitch (Christchurch City Council) Andrew Paterson (Capital and Coast District Health Board) Mohan Rao Vanamissetty (Manukau City Council) Arnold Yeoman (Degussa Peroxide Ltd)

Sustained Achievement Award for organisations demonstrating multi-year improvement. Christchurch City Council ECOsystems Limited (Lower Hutt) The Reserve Bank of New Zealand

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.