Celebrating 25 Years of Scoop
Special: Up To 25% Off Scoop Pro Learn More

Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


National Leader Announces Portfolio Allocations

15 August 2002

National Party Leader Announces Portfolio Allocations

A strong team to take National through to being the next government is what National Leader Bill English has gone for in deciding his portfolio allocations.

"Much thought has gone into the decisions made, and I am looking forward to a new invigorated caucus with a strong sense of purpose for the challenge that is ahead of them," says Mr English.


Hon Bill English: Leader; Pacific Island Affairs; SIS

Hon Roger Sowry: Deputy; Labour and Industrial Relations; Transport

Don Brash: Finance

Gerry Brownlee: Leader of the House; Energy; Local Government; SOE's

Simon Power: Tertiary Education; Justice; Workplace Skills; Youth Affairs

Dr Lynda Scott:
Health; Senior Citizens; Food Safety

Dr Wayne Mapp: Foreign Affairs; Housing; Disarmament and Arms Control

Hon Tony Ryall: Commerce; Sentencing; Police; Corrections; Courts

Hon David Carter: Agriculture; Associate Finance

Dr Hon Nick Smith: Education; Environment

Katherine Rich: Social Services and Employment; Broadcasting; Arts, Culture and Heritage

Hon Murray McCully: Sport, Fitness and Leisure; State Services; Immigration; Spokesperson responsible for Auckland

Hon Georgina Te Heuheu: Treaty; Maori Affairs; Women's Affairs

Dr Hon Lockwood Smith: Trade; Revenue

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

John Carter: Senior Whip; Regional Development; Civil Defence and Emergency Services

Lindsay Tisch: Junior Whip; Racing; Small Business

Hon Clem Simich: Assistant Speaker; Attorney General

Pansy Wong: Ethnic Affairs; Tourism

Shane Ardern: Conservation; Biosecurity; Associate Agriculture

Phil Heatley: Associate Education (Early Childhood); Fisheries

Paul Hutchison: Science; Crown Research Institutes; Biotechnology; ACC

Richard Worth: Defence; Veteran's Affairs

Judith Collins: Associate Health; Internal Affairs; National Library

Brian Connell: Forestry; Associate Regional Development

Sandra Goudie: Consumer Affairs; Disability Issues

John Key: Associate Transport; Associate Commerce

Hon Maurice Williamson: Communications; Information Technology; Statistics


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.