Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Select Committee Membership And Chairs Late 2005

Membership Of Select Committees For The Forty-Eighth Parliament As At 11 November 2005


Business development, commerce, communications, consumer affairs, energy, information technology, insurance and superannuation

Chris Auchinvole, Gordon Copeland (Deputy Chairperson), Shane Jones, Hon Winnie Laban, Hon Mahara Okeroa, Katherine Rich (Chairperson), Maryan Street, Chris Tremain, and Pansy Wong.

Education and Science

Education, education review, industry training, research, science and technology

Dr Ashraf Choudhary, Jacqui Dean, Hon Brian Donnelly (Chairperson), Hon Bill English, Te Ururoa Flavell, Marian Hobbs, Colin King, Moana Mackey (Deputy Chairperson), Allan Peachey, and Dianne Yates.

Finance and Expenditure

Audit of the Crown's and departmental financial statements, Government finance, revenue and taxation

Gordon Copeland, Craig Foss, Hon Mark Gosche, George Hawkins, Rodney Hide, Shane Jones (Chairperson), John Key, Dr the Hon Lockwood Smith (Deputy Chairperson), Paul Swain, Chris Tremain, and R Doug Woolerton.

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Customs, defence, disarmament and arms control, foreign affairs, immigration and trade

Tim Groser, John Hayes, Keith Locke, Hon Murray McCully, Jill Pettis, H V Ross Robertson, Paul Swain, Hon Georgina te Heuheu (Deputy Chairperson), and Dianne Yates (Chairperson).

Government Administration

Civil defence, cultural affairs, fitness, sport and leisure, internal affairs, Pacific Island affairs, Prime Minister and Cabinet, racing, services to Parliament, State services, statistics, tourism, women's affairs and youth affairs

Shane Ardern (Chairperson), Brian Connell, Russell Fairbrother, Sandra Goudie, H V Ross Robertson (Deputy Chairperson), and Hon Dover Samuels.


Dr Jackie Blue, Dr Jonathan Coleman, Darien Fenton, Jo Goodhew, Ann Hartley, Sue Kedgley (Chairperson), Sue Moroney, Hon Tony Ryall, Barbara Stewart, Maryan Street (Deputy Chairperson), and Tariana Turia.

Justice and Electoral

Crown legal and drafting services, electoral matters, human rights and justice

Russell Fairbrother, Christopher Finlayson (Deputy Chairperson), Hone Harawira, Ann Hartley, Lynne Pillay (Chairperson), Metiria Turei, Nicky Wagner, and Dr Richard Worth.

Law and Order

Corrections, courts, criminal law, police and serious fraud

Chester Borrows, Martin Gallagher (Chairperson), Hon Winnie Laban, Ron Mark (Deputy Chairperson), Jill Pettis, Simon Power, and Kate Wilkinson.

Local Government and Environment

Conservation, environment and local government

Georgina Beyer, Mark Blumsky, John Carter (Deputy Chairperson), Steve Chadwick (Chairperson), Jeanette Fitzsimons, Martin Gallagher, Marian Hobbs, Eric Roy, and Hon Dr Nick Smith.

Maori Affairs

Gerry Brownlee, Hon Tau Henare, Dave Hereora (Chairperson), Hon Mahara Okeroa, Pita Paraone, Hon Mita Ririnui, Dr Pita Sharples (Deputy Chairperson), and Hon Georgina te Heuheu.

Officers of Parliament

Primary Production

Agriculture, biosecurity, fisheries, forestry, lands and land information

Hon David Carter (Chairperson), Dr Ashraf Choudhary (Deputy Chairperson), Nathan Guy, Phil Heatley, Dave Hereora, Colin King, Moana Mackey, and Hon Dover Samuels.


Questions of parliamentary privilege

Regulations Review

George Hawkins, Marian Hobbs (Deputy Chairperson), Eric Roy, Maryan Street, Kate Wilkinson, and Dr Richard Worth (Chairperson).

Social Services

Housing, senior citizens, social welfare, veterans' affairs and work and income support

Paula Bennett, Georgina Beyer (Chairperson), Sue Bradford, Steve Chadwick, Judith Collins (Deputy Chairperson), Hon Harry Duynhoven, Taito Phillip Field, Dr Paul Hutchison, Heather Roy, Anne Tolley, and Judy Turner.

Standing Orders

Transport and Industrial Relations

Accident compensation, industrial relations, labour, occupational health and safety, transport and transport safety

David Bennett, Peter Brown, Bob Clarkson, Darien Fenton, Taito Phillip Field, Hon Mark Gosche (Chairperson), Dr Wayne Mapp, Sue Moroney, Hon Judith Tizard, and Hon Maurice Williamson (Deputy Chairperson).


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The Fate Of Julian Assange

Has swapping Scott Morrison for Anthony Albanese made any discernible difference to Australia’s relations with the US, China, the Pacific and New Zealand? Not so far. For example: Albanese has asked for more time to “consider” his response to New Zealand’s long running complaints about the so called “501” deportations back to this country. Really? He needs more time to figure out a response? OK, but the clock is ticking.
The Julian Assange situation is a lot more urgent. Assange’s deportation to the United States has now been okayed by the British courts and also - crucially – by its government. At any moment, Assange could be on a plane and headed for a US prison. He is facing the prospect of 175 years in jail...


Parliament: Grounds Fully Reopened

Parliament’s grounds have been fully reopened today at a ceremony and community event with mana whenua, members of the public, and representatives of Parliament... More>>

Chris Hipkins: Statement On Charlotte Bellis

On 31 January I released a statement regarding Charlotte Bellis and her MIQ application. I stated that emergency allocation criteria includes a requirement to travel to New Zealand within the next 14 days... More>>

Government: Prime Minister To Travel To Europe And Australia

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern will leave this weekend to travel to Europe and Australia for a range of trade, tourism and foreign policy events... More>>


National: Goodfellow To Retire As Party President
Peter Goodfellow today announced he will not seek re-election as President of the National Party at its Annual Conference. Mr Goodfellow will remain as a director on the board for one final term to assist in the transition... More>>

Police: Parliament Occupation Investigators Seek Public Assistance
Police investigating criminal activity on the final day of the occupation at Parliament grounds earlier this year are appealing for the public’s help to identify 15 people... More>>

World Vision: New Zealand Urged To Meet Quota As New Report Finds Hunger, Violence, And Death Rates Increase For Refugees
World Vision is calling for New Zealand to work harder to meet its refugee quota in the wake of a new report which shows that life has deteriorated significantly in the past two years for refugees in 11 hard-hit countries... More>>




InfoPages News Channels