Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


New Zealand-Ireland film agreement signed

29 October 2007

New Zealand-Ireland film agreement signed

The New Zealand and Irish governments have signed a film co-production agreement to facilitate screen industry partnerships between the two countries.

Prime Minister and Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage, Helen Clark, and Irish Minister of Education and Science, Mary Hanafin, signed the agreement in a ceremony at Parliament’s Grand Hall in Wellington today.

The signing coincides with the visit to New Zealand of the Irish President, Mary McAleese.

Helen Clark said New Zealand and Ireland have a long history of cultural connection, with an estimated eighteen per cent of the New Zealand population claiming some Irish ancestry.

“This agreement recognises and promotes those linkages. Like New Zealand, Ireland has a strong screen industry which has performed well in recent years, and both governments have demonstrated a firm commitment to supporting screen production,” Helen Clark said.

“There is excellent potential for co-operation between our industries.

“Co-production agreements enable approved joint film projects to gain official co-production status. This enhances their access to cultural funding and incentives in line with those available for ‘national’ films in each country.

“Governments also facilitate, within existing regulations, temporary immigration and importation of equipment for the reciprocal producer.

“International film agreements give our screen industry better access to a wider pool of creative and financial resources. They provide economic and cultural benefits for the partnership countries and promote the development of diverse local screen industries,” Helen Clark said.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Official co-production films are defined broadly to include television and other screen productions.


New Zealand already has agreements with Australia, Canada, France, Italy, Germany, Singapore and the United Kingdom.

Each agreement is jointly administered by the New Zealand Film Commission and an equivalent organisation in the other country.

Negotiations are currently underway for New Zealand to be signatory to further film co-production agreements.


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.