Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Hon David Cunliffe: New Board Chairs

Hon David Cunliffe: New Board Chairs

Health Minister David Cunliffe today announced the appointment of 19 District Health Board chairs.

Mr Cunliffe has reappointed 13 current chairs, with another two chairs moving to other boards.

There are also four new chairs at Taranaki, Waikato, Canterbury and West Coast DHBs.

"I am looking forward to working with new chairs and wish to thank all current chairs for their contribution over the current term," said Mr Cunliffe.

"The DHB chair role is demanding, and chairs need to be able to manage and draw together a team of people from a wide range of experience, abilities and backgrounds."

Chairs who will be moving from their current boards to take up new positions are Pat Snedden who moves from Counties Manukau DHB to Auckland DHB. Mr Sneddon succeeds Wayne Brown who has chosen to focus on his new role as the Mayor of the Far North.

Meanwhile Professor Gregor Coster moves from the West Coast DHB to Counties Manukau.

The four new chairs are: Jerry Rickman, who takes the chair at Waikato DHB from Michael Ludbrook; John Young, who succeeds Hayden Wano as chair of Taranaki DHB; Rex Williams, takes up the chair at West Coast DHB from Gregor Coster; and Alister James, who succeeds Syd Bradley as the Canterbury DHB chair.

"While Mr James was not re-elected at this year's DHB board elections, I believe he has the necessary skills and experience to take on the chair role," Mr Cunliffe said.

"His appointment enables these valuable skills to remain at the board table. Continuity was also an important consideration, given that the board will have at least four new members from 10 December."

"I would like to thank, Michael Ludbrook, Hayden Wano, Syd Bradley and Wayne Brown for the contribution they have made as chairs of their respective DHBs, and to the health sector as a whole, over many years," Mr Cunliffe said.

"All four are stepping aside to pursue other interests and I wish them well in their future endeavours."

Mr Cunliffe is awaiting the outcome of the review of conflict of interest matters at Hawke's Bay DHB, before making appointments to that board.

The Minister is currently also considering his appointment to positions at Capital & Coast DHB.

'The health sector the Government spends almost $12 billion on health each year with around 70 percent of that figure devolved to the country's 21 DHBs,' he adds.

DHB boards consist of seven elected members, and up to four members appointed by the Health Minister.

The Minister also appoints the chair and deputy chair from among the elected and appointed membership.

Four of the chairs are elected members (at Bay of Plenty, Tairawhiti, Hutt Valley and Otago DHBs) who were re-elected to their boards in October.

Mr Cunliffe intends to announce further appointments to DHB boards in the near future. The new boards take office on 10 December 2007.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On Why Herd Immunity Isn’t A Valid Option, And What’s With Our Reluctance To Wear Masks?

Herd immunity has recently bounced back into the headlines as a tool for managing Covid-19, and as a supposed alternative to lockdowns. In the US, a group of scientists was recently brought together in the town of Great Barrington, Massachusetts by a think tank funded by the Koch brothers. The assembled scientists signed the so called Barrington Declaration, which promotes herd immunity as a rational means of re-opening US public schools and the economy at large... More>>


Gordon Campbell: On National Being Shafted By Its Own Creation

As it licks its wounds, let’s hope the National Party can still find time to look back with some pride at what it has achieved in Epsom. The Act Party’s nationwide success on Saturday night has been a tribute to National’s foresight, and to its ... More>>


Green Party: 'Fruitful Discussions ... Further Discussions To Have'

The Green Party says there is a negotiation going on with the Labour Party, but there are more discussions to be had. More>>


Border: No Changes To Border Exemptions After Fishing Crew Test Covid-19 Positive

The cases were detected after routine day three testing but the immigration minister and air commodore agree there's no need to change border exemptions. More>>

PSA: Labour-Led Government Has Mandate For Transformation, Equality And Transparency

The Public Service Association welcomes the progressive electoral landslide New Zealand voters delivered on Saturday, and the union says its members look forward to implementing policies that reduce poverty and inequality, support affordable housing ... More>>


Stats NZ: New Report Shows Significant Changes To New Zealand’s Climate

Climate change is already happening in New Zealand and could have a profound impact on future generations of New Zealanders, a new report from the Ministry for the Environment and Stats NZ says. Our atmosphere and climate 2020 , released today, includes analysis ... More>>


Judith Collins: Obese People Must Take Responsibility For 'personal Choices'

National Party leader Judith Collins has described obesity as a weakness and says people should not 'blame systems for personal choices'. More>>

Māori Party: Poll Reveals Tamihere On Cusp Of Historic Māori Movement Election Victory

John Tamihere’s election campaign is on the rise and on track to return the Māori Party to parliament, a new Māori TV poll has revealed. The poll released on 11 October during the seventh and final Māori TV Maori Electoral campaign coverage has Tamihere ... More>>

Gordon Campbell: On Four-Year Terms Of Parliament, And On How The US Courts Are Dismantling Democracy

Last week, the issue of four-year parliamentary terms surfaced again. Infuriatingly, it is being discussed purely in terms of its convenience for political parties. They’d get so much more time to enact their policies, free of scrutiny or sanction by voters ... More>>





InfoPages News Channels