Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


New members for National Health Committee

Hon Tony Ryall
Minister of Health
11 August 2011

New members for National Health Committee

Health Minister Tony Ryall has announced five new members of the National Health Committee.

The new members of the Committee are:
• Craig Climo, the Chief Executive Officer of Waikato DHB
• Ross Laidlaw, a retired lawyer and businessman from Wanaka
• Sharon Mariu, a businesswoman and member of the Waikato DHB
• Dr Mark O’Carroll, a respiratory physician from Auckland
• Alex Price, the Chief Executive of Fertility Associates.

They join Auckland paediatric surgeon Mrs Anne Kolbe, who was appointed as Chair in April.

The committee advises the Minister of Health on health and disability issues, and is involved in the assessment of new diagnostic and treatment services.

Mr Ryall said he's pleased with the broad experience and expertise in the new Committee.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The Uncanny Valley Of Tokyo 2020

For all involved, this year’s Olympic Games have called for a willing suspension of anxiety. For now at least, the displays of skill and agility have been compelling enough to muffle some of the previous misgivings about the wisdom of asking athletes from all corners of the world to converge in one place in the middle of a pandemic, and at the height of a Tokyo summer... More>>



Child Poverty Action Group: Poverty Burden For Children Increased Due To Government Neglect - New Report

Poverty, inequity, homelessness and food insecurity are among the burdens which increased for tamariki Māori and other children in the first year of Covid-19 - partially due to Government neglect... More>>

Government: Cabinet Accepts Turkish Authorities’ Request For The Managed Return Of Three NZ Citizens

Cabinet has agreed to the managed return of a New Zealand citizen and her two young children from Turkey, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced today. The three have been in immigration detention in Turkey since crossing the border from Syria earlier this year... More>>


Government: Quarantine Free Travel With Australia Suspended

Quarantine Free Travel from all Australian states and territories to New Zealand is being suspended as the Covid situation there worsens, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins announced today... More>>


NZUS Council: Welcomes Nomination Of Senator Tom Udall As US Ambassador To NZ

The NZUS Council welcomes the nomination of Senator Tom Udall to the role of US Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa, NZUS Council executive director Jordan Small said... More>>

BusinessNZ: Visa Extensions Welcomed
BusinessNZ has welcomed the extension of some critical skill visa durations and changes to immigration systems to speed processing. Chief Executive Kirk Hope says move acknowledges advocacy by the hospitality sector, the BusinessNZ Network and others, and comes not a moment too soon.... More>>

Social Development: Government Initiatives Contribute To Fall In Benefit Numbers

Minister for Social Development Carmel Sepuloni has welcomed the release of the June quarter Benefit Statistics which show a continuing fall in the number of people receiving a Main Benefit... More>>




InfoPages News Channels