Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Former Education Secretary heads new board

Hon Hekia Parata
Minister of Education

13 August 2012 Media Statement

Former Education Secretary heads new board of Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu

Education Minister Hekia Parata today announced the appointment of former Chief Executive and Secretary for Education Karen Sewell, QSO as the new chairperson of the Board of Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu (Te Kura) – formerly known as the Correspondence School. The Minister also announced the appointment of three new Board members.

Ms Parata said the appointments would place New Zealand’s largest school in a strong position for the next three years.

“Karen Sewell has provided strong leadership to the education sector and has shown a determined commitment to improving educational outcomes for our priority learners – many of whom are students of Te Kura. I congratulate her and the other appointees and I am confident Te Kura can look forward to the next three years under the guidance and leadership of a committed and very capable Board.”

As the country’s largest school, Te Kura traces its history back to 1922 when The Correspondence School was established to provide lessons to approximately 100 isolated primary school children scattered throughout New Zealand. Today the school has more than 26,000 students a year studying full or part-time.

Te Kura provides personalised learning programmes for students from early childhood to Year 13, as well as for adult learners and those with special education needs.

The other new appointees to the Board are former Principal of both Rangi Ruru Girls’ School and Co-director of Unlimited Paenga Tawhiti, Gillian Heald; University of Canterbury Professor of e-Learning and member of the Governance Board for Ultrafast Broadband in Schools / Network for Learning, Niki Davis; and Paul Adams, Managing Director for Carrus Corporation Ltd, a successful businessman and developer.

The appointments to Te Kura’s Board of Trustees are for a full term of three years commencing 10 September 2012.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On Failing To Prepare For Either Mental Health Needs, Or Covid Outbreaks

In a week when the Covid scare in Wellington and the national crisis in mental health both hit the headlines, they also seemed like mirror images of each other – in that we seem equally ill-prepared on both fronts. In both cases, contingency planning has seeds next to non-existent... More>>


Environment: Bringing Back The Health Of Hauraki Gulf

New marine protection areas and restrictions on fishing are among a raft of changes being put in place to protect the Hauraki Gulf for future generations.
The new strategy, Revitalising the Gulf – Government action on the Sea Change Plan, released today... More>>


NZ First Returns: Winston Peters - AGM Address

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s a pleasure to be in Auckland for the 28th New Zealand First Party Conference. It is our intention and mission to remain the most successful political party outside of National and Labour in the last three decades... More>>

Government: New Members Appointed To Waitangi Tribunal

Minister for Māori Development, Hon Willie Jackson, today announced the appointment of three new members to the Waitangi Tribunal and the reappointment of one existing member to the Waitangi Tribunal... More>>

NZNO: Nurses Reject DHB Offer And Confirm Strike Action

The New Zealand Nurses Organisation says its 30,000 members who work in DHBs have voted overwhelmingly to reject a second offer in their current round of multi-employer collective agreement (MECA) negotiations... More>>





InfoPages News Channels