Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


New Auckland SHAs to deliver 8000 more homes

[Joint statement with Auckland Mayor Len Brown]
Hon Dr Nick Smith
Minister of Housing

12 September 2014 Media Statement
New Auckland Special Housing Areas to deliver 8000 more homes

A fourth tranche of 17 Special Housing Areas (SHAs) that would yield more than 8000 additional new homes across Auckland was today announced by Housing Minister Dr Nick Smith and Auckland Mayor Len Brown.

“The Auckland Housing Accord was agreed 11 months ago and since then, it has facilitated thousands more sections to be developed and thousands more homes to be built. The latest tranche brings the total number of Special Housing Areas in Auckland to 80, with a potential yield of up to 41,500 homes. This is the momentum and scale we need to improve housing affordability and supply in our largest city,” Dr Smith says.

The Auckland Housing Accord, which was agreed in October 2013 by Dr Smith and Mr Brown, provides for the creation of SHAs by Auckland Council with the approval of the Government. Qualifying developments in these areas can be streamlined and fast-tracked. The first tranche of SHAs was announced at the time the Accord was agreed and provided for 6000 homes across 11 Special Housing Areas. The second tranche in December last year provided for a further 11 Areas and 9500 homes, and the third tranche in May this year provided 41 Areas and 18,000 homes.

“The Special Housing Areas are making a real difference to the number of homes developers are building and planning to build at a range of different price points,” Mr Brown says.

“The council is seeing an exciting pipeline of construction activity which will result in quality residential neighbourhoods in 2015 and beyond. The Auckland Housing Accord is really starting to have a positive effect on the provision of new homes in Auckland, with almost 81,000 new dwellings and sections in the pipeline throughout Auckland over the next 12 years.”

“The successful effect of the Housing Accord is obvious in the latest building consent figures, which show 7119 consents were issued in Auckland in the year to July. This represents an annual rate of growth of 30 per cent – the highest in a decade,” Dr Smith says.

“The Government’s KiwiSaver HomeStart initiative complements the Special Housing Areas by providing an incentive for builders to construct more homes in an affordable range. The scheme provides $20,000 grants for first home buyers who have been in KiwiSaver for five years to purchase homes under $550,000 and provides Welcome Home Loans that enables purchases with a 10 per cent deposit.”

The 17 new SHAs have been adopted by Auckland Council but are subject to formal approval by Cabinet and a recommendation to the Governor-General. It is expected the Order in Council process will be completed to enable resource and building consents for developments to be advanced later this year.

More information including maps of the 80 SHAs is available at:

1. Map: Fourth tranche of Auckland Special Housing Areas
2. Map: All Auckland Special Housing Areas

Editor’s notes:
Photographs of the new homes in the Waimahia development at the Weymouth Special Housing Area are available on request.

The locations for the latest set of Special Housing Areas are as follows (potential yield of new homes in brackets):

1. Akoranga Drive, Northcote (31)
2. Barrack Road, Mt Wellington (40)
3. Bellfield Road, Papakura (265-365)
4. Bunnythorpe Road, Papakura (10)
5. Coates Ave, Orakei (14)
6. East Coast Road, Pine Hill (39)
7. Enfield Street, Mount Eden (92)
8. Cnr Great North Road and Walsall Street, Avondale (36)
9. Harbourside Drive, Hingaia (200-300)
10. Mokoia Road, Birkenhead (31)
11. Morrin Street, Ellerslie (138)
12. Racecourse Parade, Avondale (15-80)
13. Redhills (Fred Taylor Drive) – Stage 1 (3392-4207)
14. St Lukes Road, Mount Albert (107)
15. Takapuna strategic area (350)
16. Tamaki regeneration area (1200-1500)
17. West Hoe Heights, Orewa (400-800)

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On Why New Zealand Needs To Change Its Defence Habits

In a flashback to the military displays of days gone by, one of our frigates recently joined a Carrier Strike show of force in the South China Sea, en route to a joint military exercise in Singapore with our traditional allies, called BersamaGold21. Reportedly, Anna Powles, from the Centre of Defence and Security Studies at Massey University felt this to be a case of us doing our bit to uphold international law, and the right of free transit through the region in question... More>>

Government: New COVID-19 Protection Framework Delivers Greater Freedoms For Vaccinated New Zealanders

Vaccinated New Zealanders will regain everyday freedoms when the country moves to a new simplified COVID-19 Protection Framework that doesn’t rely on nationwide lockdowns as the main measure to stop the virus spreading. In a suite of announcements that establish a pathway out of restrictions the Government is also providing up to $940 million per fortnight to support businesses through the challenging period... More>>



Government: Responds To Independent Review Into WorkSafe

The Government has clear expectations that WorkSafe must action the recommendations of the independent review into the regulator to improve its management of adventure activities following the tragedy at Whakaari White Island, Workplace Relations and Safety Minister Michael Wood says... More>>

Government: New Zealand Secures Historic Free Trade Deal With The United Kingdom
New Zealand and the United Kingdom have agreed in principle the details of a historic Free Trade Agreement (FTA), which will further accelerate our COVID-19 economic recovery say Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Trade and Export Growth Damien O’Connor... More>>


Ombudsman: Launches Investigation Into MIQ Booking System
The Chief Ombudsman Peter Boshier is launching a broad investigation into the Managed Isolation and Quarantine (MIQ) booking system after receiving hundreds of complaints... More>>


Pay Cheque To Pay Cheque: Half A Million New Zealanders Have No Savings
New findings from the Consumer NZ sentiment tracker found that 15% of New Zealanders had no savings, and a further 27% were anxious about their level of savings and would like to have more tucked away... More>>

Government: Mandatory Vaccination For Two Workforces

Large parts of two workforces critical to preventing the spread of COVID-19 will be required to be vaccinated, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Our education and health and disability workforces have done an incredible job throughout this pandemic to keep themselves and people safe,” Chris Hipkins said.... More>>

Green Party: Deeply Concerned Space Launches May Be Breaching Nuclear-free Laws

The Green Party is deeply concerned that space launches by Rocket Lab may be breaching nuclear-free laws, given our long-standing position as a signatory of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty... More>>




InfoPages News Channels