Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Three new appointees to Waitangi Tribunal

Hon Te Ururoa Flavell

Minister for Māori Development

Minita Whanaketanga Māori

10 September 2015 Media Statement

Three new appointees to Waitangi Tribunal

Māori Development Minister, Te Ururoa Flavell, has announced the appointments of three new members to the Waitangi Tribunal.

Dr Hauata Palmer, Derek Lardelli and Bill Wilson QC will join the Tribunal along with 13 other members who have also been reappointed.

“I am confident the new members will work well with the reappointed members as they continue their work across the motu and will give continuity to the high calibre work of the Tribunal.”

In addition, Minister Flavell said he was pleased to confirm the reappointment of Chief Judge Wilson Isaac as the Chairperson of the Tribunal.

“Chief Judge Isaac has been at the helm since 2009, and has provided invaluable leadership to the Waitangi Tribunal. His ability to maintain confidence with key groups involved in the Tribunal process and his extensive knowledge acquired as Chairperson is respected and important to the claims hearings,” Mr Flavell said.

Ērima Hēnare was also acknowledged for his commitment to the Waitangi Tribunal following his passing earlier this year. Mr Hēnare was appointed to the panel in 2014 and brought a depth of skill to his role says the Minister.

“Ērima was an acknowledged authority on traditional and modern history – both Māori and non-Māori – and held a number of public, advisory and educational sector posts. His contribution was greatly valued.”

New appointments to the Waitangi Tribunal are:

Dr Hauata Palmer is a well-respected kaumātua from Ngāi Te Rangi and he holds a honourary Doctorate in Philosophy. He worked for the Department of Māori Affairs for several years before returning home to work for his hapū and iwi in the Tauranga region.

Derek Lardelli (Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata) is an expert in moko, kapa haka, tribal history and whaikōrero. He has been a cultural advisor for numerous groups including the All Blacks and New Zealand’s Olympic team. He lives in Gisborne and is an Associate Professor at Toihoukura, School of Māori Arts at the EIT Tairāwhiti campus.

Bill Wilson QC has extensive experience in public and private law. He was a Queen’s Council from 1996 to 2007, a Court of Appeal Judge from 2007 before being appointed to the Supreme Court in 2008. He resigned in 2010 to practise as an arbitrator, mediator and legal adviser. He has previously served on the Waitangi Tribunal from 1986 to 1995.

Reappointments to the Waitangi Tribunal are:

Wilson Isaac

Dr Aroha Harris

Basil Morrison

Dr Monty Soutar

Tania Simpson

Tureiti Moxon

Miriama Evans

Professor Rawinia Higgins

Professor Pou Temara

Ronald Crosby

Dr Angela Ballara

David Cochrane

Sir Hirini Moko Mead


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Whakaari / White Island Eruption: Body recovery operation

The NZ Defence Force recovered the bodies of six people who tragically died in Monday’s eruption on Whakaari/White Island and will support efforts to recover the bodies of two others in the hope there is resolution for those families. .. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Welfare Vs Infrastructure Spending

If New Zealand has a pressing need to stimulate its flagging economy, it seems very weird that the government is choosing a $12 billion package of infrastructure spending – mainly on road and rail – that by definition, will take a very long time to deliver their stimulatory benefits ... More>>

New Reports: "Immediate Commitment To Doing Justice Differently"

Justice Minister Andrew Little released two reports today, Turuki! Turuki! from Te Uepū Hāpai I te Ora, and Te Tangi o te Manawanui: Recommendations for Reform from the Chief Victims Advisor. Both recommend a fresh approach to the way criminal justice has been approached... More>>


"Heart-Breaking And Confronting": Surgical Mesh Restorative Justice Report

Minister Genter: “People have talked about losing the life they had enjoyed before surgical mesh harmed them – the loss of a steady job, the ability to exercise, a loving relationship in some cases. Others described the chronic pain they experienced..." More>>


Law Foundation: Government Decryption Powers Must Respect Privacy

The power of government to order users and companies to decrypt encrypted data and devices needs stronger privacy protections and additional safeguards, according to a study published by researchers at the University of Waikato. More>>

Latest 'Discussion Doc': National On Healthcare

National has today released our eighth Discussion Document which focusses on health and outlines a range of policies which will enable more Kiwis to access high-quality healthcare, Leader of the Opposition Simon Bridges says. More>>


Select Committee Report: Combatting Foreign Election Interference

MPs have finally delivered their recommendations to combat foreign interference in elections in a long awaited and much delayed report. More>>

Mosque Attacks: Names Of Arresting Officers Released

Police are now in the position to name the two officers involved in the arrest of the alleged gunman responsible for the attacks on the Al Noor and Linwood Mosques on March 15. More>>

Big, Bold, Permanent Change Needed: Children's Commissioner On 2019 Child Poverty Monitor

“I want to see family incomes dramatically raised by increasing benefits and making the minimum wage a living wage. And the Government needs to move much faster at increasing the supply of social housing..." More>>






InfoPages News Channels