Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Prime Minister presents first public service medals

Prime Minister presents first public service medals

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern today presented the inaugural medal that recognises meritorious service in the Public Service.

The medal is awarded to public servants who have provided service that has brought significant benefit or prestige to New Zealand or the Public Service, and who go above and beyond what is expected.

“Public servants rarely get acknowledged for the exceptional work they do that changes New Zealand society and lives for the better,” Jacinda Ardern said.

“This medal recognises those public servants who inspire others and have really made a difference.

“Public servants deliver services that protect the vulnerable and help to improve everyone’s quality of life. They are essential to our economic development and prosperity. They strengthen our communities and bind us together as a society.

“I’m proud to present these medals and acknowledge those who will receive the State Services Commissioner’s Commendation for Frontline Excellence alongside them.

“In particular I want to make mention of Miriama Evans, and Scott Theobold, who both passed away before they could be honoured.

“Miriama is an inaugural award recipient in recognition of a contribution that covers academic, community, public service and service to her iwi.

“She advised several Prime Ministers and earned the title “Wahine Toa’ through a lifetime battling for the interests of Maori, especially Maori woman. Miriama passed away from illness on August 15. Her family will receive her award.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

“Scott Theobald, a ranger with the Department of Conservation, was tragically killed in the course of his duties in a helicopter crash last month.

“Scott epitomised what is meant by the Spirit of Service. His passion, innovation and commitment to protect our environment is honoured today with the Commendation for Frontline Excellence.

“My heart goes out to his wife and children and wider family, many who have travelled to the awards today.

“Miriama, Scott and all of today’s recipients are people who embody a spirit of service to the community. Public servants who go the extra mile to serve the people of New Zealand. People who lead and take risks to find solutions to the big challenges the country is facing.”

The New Zealand Public Service Medal is part of New Zealand’s Royal Honours system. It exclusively recognises the work, achievements, and contribution of core public servants. It is instituted by Royal Warrant.

The 2018 winners are:
• Mrs Isabel Evans, Director of Education, Ministry of Education
• Mr Kyle Kuiti, Te Au rere a te Tonga Youth Justice Residence Manager, Oranga Tamariki
• Ms Matalena Leaupepe, Director for the Government Centre for Dispute Resolution, Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment
• Mr Brodie Stubbs, Manager Memorials and Taonga, Ministry for Culture and Heritage
• Ms Miriama Evans (posthumous)

Minister for State Services Chris Hipkins presented the inaugural State Services Commissioner’s Commendations for Frontline Excellence, which recognise public servants in the frontline who demonstrate the highest standards of integrity in their everyday roles and responsibilities.

“Frontline public servants are often the face of our government, so it's fitting that we acknowledge and celebrate their hard work and exceptional service,” Chris Hipkins said.
“Public servants go about their work quietly without expecting any thanks. The select few who received commendations today went the extra mile and made a real difference to their country. They deserve this recognition and reward.”

The 2018 winners are:

• Mr Heath Cairns, Harbourmaster Lake Taupō, Department of Internal Affairs
• Ms Heather Doughty, Senior Landonline Application Specialist, Land Information New Zealand
• Mr Noel Harris, Mapping Officer, Ministry of Justice
• Ms Ailsa Parker, Information Centre Advisor, Ministry for the Environment
• Ms Dale Parkes, Customer Services Officer, Inland Revenue
• Ms Patricia Prchal, Family Group Conference Coordinator, Oranga Tamariki
• Mrs Maria Reynen Clayton, Development Manager Tokelau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
• Mr Brian Roughan, S pecialist Adviser, Regulation and Assurance, Verification services, Ministry for Primary Industries.
• Mr Scott Theobald, Ranger, Department of Conservation (posthumous)

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.