Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


Local Body Nominations Close

Local Body Nominations Close

Dunedin (Friday, 16 August 2013) – Some local body candidates have been elected unopposed following the close of nominations.

Current Dunedin City Councillor Andrew Noone has been re-elected unopposed to represent the Waikouaiti Coast-Chalmers Ward. Three community boards – Mosgiel Taieri, Strath Taieri and Waikouaiti Coast – have also been elected. Current Otago Regional Councillor Doug Brown has been re-elected unopposed in the Moeraki Constituency.

Nine nominations have been received for Mayor of Dunedin, compared with seven in 2010.

Nominations for this year’s local authority elections closed at 12 noon today.

The Electoral Officer for the Dunedin City Council, the Otago Regional Council and the Southern District Health Board, Pam Jordan, says overall the numbers of nominations received are similar to those received in 2010.

The numbers of nominations received for the DCC, the ORC and the SDHB are:

Central Ward
35 (11 vacancies)
Mosgiel Taieri Ward
3 (2 vacancies)
Waikouaiti Coast-Chalmers Ward
1 (1 vacancy)
Chalmers Community Board
12 (6 vacancies)
Mosgiel Taieri Community Board
6 (6 vacancies)
Otago Peninsula Community Board
7 (6 vacancies)
Saddle Hill Community Board
7 (6 vacancies)
Strath Taieri Community Board
6 (6 vacancies)
Waikouaiti Coast Community Board
6 (6 vacancies)
ORC Dunedin
10 (6 vacancies)
ORC Dunstan
7 (3 vacancies)
ORC Moeraki
1 (1 vacancy)
ORC Molyneux
3 (2 vacancies)
SDHB Otago
13 (4 vacancies)
SDHB Southland
8 (3 vacancies)

More information is available at www.dunedin.govt.nz/elections. Candidate profiles will be available on the website from Tuesday.

The elections are held by postal vote and voting papers will be sent out from 20 September to 25 September. These must be mailed back in time to be received by 12 noon on Election Day, Saturday 12 October.

If voting papers do not arrive during that September period, special voting papers can be posted out (phone 03 477 4000) and a Special Voting booth will be available in the Civic Centre.

This year, names on the voting papers will be in random order for the DCC, ORC and SDHB. Each voting paper will be unique.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On Why Worksafe’s Whakaari/White Island Prosecutions Are Good News

Somewhere in Heaven, Helen Kelly must be smiling about Worksafe’s criminal prosecution of 10 firms and three individuals for their roles in the lead up to the Whakaari /White Island tragedy. In tandem with the subsequent coronial inquest, these court proceedings will hopefully culminate in the creation ( finally!) of a central agency to regulate the adventure tourism sector and improve public safety on matters like risk assessment, safety guidelines, inspection, enforcement and injury reporting... More>>


Pill Testing: Govt Moves On Drug Checking To Keep Young New Zealanders Safer This Summer

The Government will pass time limited legislation to give legal certainty to drug checking services, so they can carry out their work to keep New Zealanders safer this summer at festivals without fear of prosecution, Health Minister Andrew Little ... More>>


WorkSafe: 13 Parties Charged Over Whakaari/White Island Tragedy

WorkSafe New Zealand today filed charges against 13 parties in relation to the Whakaari/White Island eruption in December last year. “22 people have lost their lives in this tragic event. WorkSafe is tasked with investigating workplace incidents to determine ... More>>


Pay Gap: Progress On Pay Equity For DHB Staff

Today’s initial agreement between DHBs and the PSA on pay equity for clerical and administration staff is an important step toward better, fairer pay for this crucial and largely female workforce, Health Minister Andrew Little says. More>>


Media: Stuff Holds Itself Accountable For Wrongs To Māori

Stuff has today published the results of an investigation into itself, and issued a public apology, for the way the media organisation has portrayed Māori, the indigenous people of Aotearoa New Zealand, from its first editions to now. Tā Mātou Pono | More>>


New Zealand Government: To Declare A Climate Emergency

The Government will declare a climate emergency next week, Climate Change Minister James Shaw said today. “We are in the midst of a climate crisis that will impact on nearly every aspect of our lives and the type of planet our children will inherit ... More>>


Economy: Crown Accounts Reflect Govt’s Careful Economic Management

The better-than-expected Crown accounts released today show the Government’s careful management of the COVID-19 health crisis was the right approach to support the economy. As expected, the Crown accounts for the year to June 2020 show the operating balance ... More>>





InfoPages News Channels