Video | Business Headlines | Internet | Science | Scientific Ethics | Technology | Search


Hillary Step Prize Awarded

Hillary Step Prize Awarded

Named after the final reach of the ascent of Mt Everest, the 2015 Hillary Step (NZD100K) prize has been awarded co-jointly to Hillary Institute global Laureates ATOSSA SOLTANI, Founder/Chair of Amazon Watch and MICHAEL BRUNE, Executive Director of the Sierra Club.

Responding to the COP 21 imperative of keeping global warming to below 20 C, Hillary Laureates Soltani (2013) and Brune (2014) have crafted a consortium of 60 NGO and indigenous leaders from the top of Alaska, to the tar sands of Canada to the forests of the South American Amazon, creating a coordinated, action strategy for ‘Keep it in the Ground across the Americas’. The outcome will impact the UN Climate Summit in Paris, but will importantly also go beyond it.
“Mike and Atossa put a compelling proposition to our international governors in this vital year for concerted global action on Climate Change” says Hillary Institute Executive Director Mark Prain.

Acknowledgement that major impacts of our fossil fuel economy are frequently borne not by those who profit most, but by front-line and indigenous communities (with the least resources to adapt), is core to the strategy – and core to the Institute’s 2012-15 focus on Climate Equity.
"These two Laureates have provided remarkable mid-career leadership over two decades, heading extraordinary organisations across North and South America" adds Institute Chair Anake Goodall.
"The Hillary Institute was established to champion exactly this calibre of future-focused leadership in a time of unprecedented global challenges".

2010 Laureate Peggy Liu (China) was the first recipient of the Hillary Step prize in 2012 to support the development of the “China Dream” project, a low carbon re-imagining and programme of action for the aspirations of the world’s fastest-growing middle class.

Founded to honour the global leadership legacy of Sir Edmund Hillary and launched with him in 2007, the Hillary Institute has named six global Hillary Laureates since 2009 for exceptional mid-career leadership in Climate Change solutions and Climate Equity.

The inaugural Laureate was Jeremy Leggett (UK). He was followed by Peggy Liu (China – 2010); Aimee Christensen (US – 2011); President Anote Tong (Kiribati – 2012), Atossa Soltani (Amazon Watch – 2013) and Mike Brune ( US – 2014).

For more info on all Laureates and the work of the Institute, based in New Zealand,


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Air New Zealand: Flying Year-round To Popular Queensland Destinations

Air New Zealand is moving to year-round direct flights on its Auckland-Cairns, Auckland-Sunshine Coast and Christchurch-Gold Coast routes under an agreement with the Queensland Government... More>>

SEA: Another First For Solar Energy In New Zealand

The Sustainable Energy Association NZ (SEANZ) congratulates Sunergise on the commissioning of the Sunergise Kapuni Solar Power Plant, the largest in the country... More>>

Accenture: More Boomers Than Zoomers Want To Work From Home

While often associated with tech savvy Gen Z or Zoomers, new global research from Accenture shows that the push for more flexible working environments is being led by Gen Xers and Baby Boomers... More>>

Banking: Westpac New Zealand To Remain Part Of Westpac Group

Westpac New Zealand Limited (WNZL) remains part of Westpac Group following a decision for the two businesses not to demerge. Westpac Group Chief Executive Officer, Peter King, said: “After a detailed review, we believe a demerger of the WNZL business would not be in the best interests of shareholders... More>>

Mercury: Enters Into Binding Agreements To Acquire Trustpower’s Retail Business

Mercury NZ Limited (Mercury) has announced that it has entered into binding agreements with Trustpower Limited (Trustpower, NZX:TPW) to acquire Trustpower’s retail business for NZ$441 million... More>>


ASB: New Zealanders Missing Out On Hundreds Of Millions In KiwiSaver Government Contributions

New Zealanders have just over a week to ensure they’re eligible for the maximum annual government KiwiSaver contribution... More>>