Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Six legends inducted into ARL Hall of Fame

Six legends inducted into ARL Hall of Fame

The Auckland Rugby League last night inducted the first group of local legends into the ARL Hall of Fame, at a ceremony held at Alexandra Park in Auckland.

The inaugural six inductees were Frank Delgrosso, Ron Ackland, Tony Kriletich, Roger Bailey, Dennis Williams and Owen Wright.

The night, which doubled as the launch of the 2015 Appliance Shed Fox Memorial season, was attended by all four of the living inductees as well as family members of the late Delgrosso and Ackland.

“It was a fantastic occasion to recognise six men who have given so much to the game in Auckland, as well as their families who have sacrificed plenty along the way,” ARL CEO John Ackland said.

“Bringing together Auckland Rugby League stars of today and yesterday in one event was special."

A selection panel containing John Ackland, ARL president Gary Whittle, ARL life member Ray Cranch and veteran broadcaster Allen McLaughlin spent over a year working on the inaugural induction group.

The criteria for inclusion was based on the number of years playing club league in Auckland, the number of Fox Memorial finals played in and won, the number of games played for Auckland representative sides, victories over touring sides while playing for Auckland, captaincy of club and representative sides, as well as crowd appeal and character.

“It was absolutely magnificent to see this come to reality,” Whittle said.

“We have always been a bit hesitant with things like this in rugby league, we have been bad record keepers and haven’t really done enough to recognise our players.

“You only had to listen to the players selected, how humble they were and the quality of people they are, it meant a lot to them and their families."

The night finished with an auction of six limited edition ARL Hall of Fame jerseys, featuring the signatures of all the inductees.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Tui Time: Nominations Open For The 55th New Zealand Music Awards

Ceremony confirmed for November, new Tui announced Recorded Music New Zealand announce nominations are now open for the 55th annual New Zealand Music Awards | Ngā Tohu Puoro o Aotearoa. Damian Vaughan, Recorded Music New Zealand CEO, says it’s more ... More>>

FIFA: Trans-Tasman Hosts For 2023 Women’s World Cup

The awarding of joint hosting rights for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 is a landmark decision for women’s sport in our region Prime Ministers Scott Morrison and Jacinda Ardern said. For the first time in history, Australians and New Zealanders ... More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland