Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | News Video | Crime | Employers | Housing | Immigration | Legal | Local Govt. | Maori | Welfare | Unions | Youth | Search


List offers experience, diversity, credibility

The Progressive Party's Election 2005 List offers political experience, credibility and diversity, party president Grant Gillon said today.

"Progressive's list includes a combined 42 years Parliamentary experience, and a combined 23 years of governmental experience, within its top five positions.

Emphasizing the party's commitment to lowering financial barriers to education and improving education standards, its Education Spokesperson, Dr Megan Woods, is number four on the list.

"Our top ten candidates' work and community experience is extensive with strong representation of those in small business as well as representation from people with professional experience in the education and health sectors," he said.

"Progressive's electoral objectives this election are to see Jim Anderton increase his majority in the Wigram electorate while the 50 Progressive candidates around the country are campaigning to raise Party Votes for Progressive to increase our party's influence within the next Helen Clark-led coalition government," Grant Gillon said.

"The reason we want to increase our influence within the coalition is to deliver on our key policies such as doing more to get low income families into their first homes, raise the alcohol purchasing age to twenty and cut the company tax rate to match Australia's to help propel job-creation," Grant Gillon said.

Other key Progressive policies include raising the floor of National Superannuation, slashing tertiary graduates' debt in return for them working in New Zealand and introducing free prescriptions and genuinely free GP visits for the young and the elderly," Grant Gillon said.

"Progressive has a very strong record of getting good things done in politics. We delivered Kiwibank, 4 Weeks' Paid Annual Leave for workers, job creation through industry and regional economic development, the campaign against alcohol and other drug abuse and much more.

"In the next Parliament, we will deliver policies to slash graduates' debt burden, turn the tide against youth binge drinking, get more low income families into their first homes and deliver more job opportunities aided by a lower headline company tax rate to match Australia's".


Progressive Party's 2005 General Election List: www.progressiveparty.org.nz/list or



Top Five includes 42 years Parliamentary experience in Jim Anderton, Matt Robson, Grant Gillon and John Wright; and 23 years combined experience in government.


Top ten candidates' work and community experience includes small business people and health and education sector professionals. It includes outstanding new settlers that have made significant contributions to our society including Auckland barrister, Sione Fonua, businessman Meng Ly, a survivor of Pol Pot's killing fields and Dr Fatima Ashrafi, a senior medical specialist originally from Bangladesh. Barry Wilson, a Cambridge-trained economist and lawyer, is the Inspector of Mental Health for Auckland, a talkback host for 1ZB as well as the president of the Auckland Council for Civil Liberties.


The top 25 candidates' represents the diverse, tolerant society that New Zealand is in the 21st century. Candidates ranked from 26 are listed in alphabetical order.

Information on candidates can be found at:


1. Jim Anderton Leader - Progressive MP for Wigram
2. Matt Robson Deputy Leader - Tamaki
3. Grant Gillon Housing Spokesperson - Northcote
4. Dr Megan Woods Education Spokesperson - Christchurch Central
5. John Wright Small Business/Tax Spokesperson - Waimakariri
6. Sione Fonua - Maungakiekie
7. Vivienne Shepherd - Whangarei
8. Meng Ly - Pakuranga
9. Dr Fatima Ashrafi - Epsom
10. Barry Wilson (List Only)
11. Fale Leleisiuao - Mana
12. Dr Russell Franklin - Otaki
13. Paula Gillon - North Shore
14. Phil Clearwater - Banks Peninsula
15. Trevor Barnard - Manukau East
16. Raghbir Singh - Manurewa
17. Brenda Hill - Clevedon
18. Fiona Beazley - East Coast Bays
19. Russell Caldwell - Te Tai Tonga
20. David Reeks - Taupo
21. John Maurice - Kaikoura
22. Mohammad Kazemi-Yazdi - New Lynn
23. Heka Taefu - Invercargill
24. Veronique (Ronnie) Stewart-Ward - Bay of Plenty
25. Zemin (Ted) Zhang - Ilam.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Also, Loan Interest: Productivity Commission On Tertiary Education

Key recommendations include better quality control; making it easier for students to transfer between courses; abolishing University Entrance; enabling tertiary institutions to own and control their assets; making it easier for new providers to enter the system; and facilitating more and faster innovation by tertiary education providers... More>>


Higher Payments: Wellington Regional Council Becomes A Living Wage Employer

Councillor Sue Kedgley said she was delighted that the Wellington Regional Council unanimously adopted her motion to become a Living Wage employer, making it the first regional council in New Zealand to do so. More>>


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news