Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
License needed for work use Register

Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Final vote count in for Tasman

Media Release
13 October 2016

Final vote count in for Tasman

The final results are in for the Tasman District Council election which closed on 8 October. Despite the slight increase or decrease of votes received across the board for all candidates there has been no change in representation on the Council frpom the earlier preliminary count.

The final results also allow us to confirm the need for a by-election for the Motueka Community Board said Electoral Officer Sandra Hartley. “The by-election will be decided by postal vote on 17 February 2017.”

The new Council for the 2016 Triennium will be sworn in 9.30am 20 October at the Tasman District Council Chambers in Richmond.

The final result for the elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayoralty Votes Received

CandidateNumber of Votes
Maxwell Clark 5,142
Richard Kempthorne 6,838
Kit Maling 5,761


Richard Kempthorne is declared elected.

Golden Bay Ward (2 vacancies) Votes Received

CandidateNumber of Votes
Sue Brown 1,089
Richard Cox 226
Brian Ensor 733
Bryony Pearson 668
Paul Sangster 1,074
Reg Turner 315
Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.


Sue Brown and Paul Sangster are declared elected.

Moutere-Waimea Ward (3 vacancies) Votes Received

CandidateNumber of Votes
Andrew Gould 1,447
Tim King 2,671
Dean McNamara 1,994
Richard Osmaston 706
Graeme Stradling 1,838
Anne Turley 2,446
Gary Watson 1,030


Tim King, Dean McNamara and Anne Turley are declared elected.

Motueka Ward (3 vacancies) Votes Received

CandidateNumber of Votes
Peter Canton 2,310
Barry Dowler 2,049
Paul Hawkes 2,089
Martin Lucas 1,438
David Ogilvie 2,409


Peter Canton, Paul Hawkes and David Ogilvie are declared elected.

Richmond Ward (4 vacancies) Votes Received

CandidateNumber of Votes
Murray Dawson 1,760
Dennis Gibbs 1,162
Mark Greening 2,654
Michael Higgins 2,500
Wayne Mackey 2,122
Kit Maling 3,101
Trevor Tuffnell 3,419
Dana Wensley 3,446


Mark Greening, Kit Maling, Trevor Tuffnell and Dana Wensley are declared elected.

The voter return was 49.4%, being 18,161 votes, including special votes.
Please note the voter return number does not include the 115 Special votes received as it is only the voters registered on the roll at the time of the election which are measured in the voter return percentage.

Candidates Elected Unopposed
There were three elections where there was no need for an election as the nominations for the roles equaled the number of seats therefore the candidates are deemed to be elected unopposed.

Lakes/Murchison Ward Councillor (One member)
Stuart Bryant

Motueka Community Board (Four members)
Paul Hawkes
Richard Horrell
Claire Hutt
Brent Maru

Golden Bay Community Board (Four members)
Lynne Ensor
Dave Gowland
Grant Knowles
Abbie Langford

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The New Government’s Policies Of Yesteryear

Winston Peters is routinely described as the kingmaker who decides whether the centre right or the centre-left has a turn at running this country. He also plays a less heralded, but equally important role as the scapegoat who can be blamed for killing taxes that his senior partners never much wanted in the first place. Neither Ardern nor Robertson for example, really wanted a capital gains tax, for fear of Labour copping the “tax and spend“ label they ended up being saddled with anyway. Usefully though, they could tell the party faithful it was wicked old Winston who killed the CGT... More

Government: National, ACT, & NZ First To Deliver For All Kiwis

The National Party claims the new coalition government will be stable, effective, and will deliver for all Kiwis. "Despite the challenging economic environment, New Zealanders can look forward to a better future because of the changes the new Government will make ... We know that, with the right leadership, the right policies, and the right direction, together New Zealanders can make this an even better country," says Christopher Luxon... More


Green Party: Petition To Save Oil & Gas Ban

“The new Government’s plan to expand oil and gas exploration is as dangerous as it is unscientific. Whatever you think about the new government, there is simply no mandate to trash the climate. We need to come together to stop them,” says James Shaw... More

PSA: MFAT Must Reverse Decision To Remove Te Reo

MFAT's decision to remove te reo from correspondence before new Ministers are sworn in risks undermining the important progress the public sector has made in honouring te Tiriti. "We are very disappointed in what is a backward decision - it simply seems to be a Ministry bowing to the racist rhetoric we heard on the election campaign trail," says Marcia Puru... More




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.