Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Whittaker is NZ'S Latest Drift King

Press release
For immediate release

* 2011/12 CODY'S D1NZ National Drifting Championship Series
Rnd 6 (Final)

Hampton Downs
Northern Waikato
April 06/07



Whittaker is NZ'S Latest Drift King

Curt Whittaker (Team Dilusi 2JZ Nissan Skyline R34 coupe) is New Zealand's new Drift King, the Auckland driver claiming the Cody's D1NZ National Drifting Championship title in front of a record 5000-strong crowd at the final round of the 2011/12 series at Hampton Downs on Saturday.

Heading into the Easter weekend round Whittaker was 27 points behind Auckland-based international 'Mad' Mike Whiddett (Red Bull/Speedhunters Mazda RX7).

However Whiddett lost his Top 4 battle when he tapped former series champion 'Fanga' Dan Woolhouse (Castrol Edge Holden Commodore) into a spin, leaving the way open for Whittaker - who beat Waiuku driver Jason Sellers (Supercharge Batteries 2JZ Nissan Laurel) in their Top 4 clash - to face Woolhouse for round, and with it, overall championship, honours.

With two round wins already to his credit Whittaker had the stats on his side, but after blowing his good engine at the penultimate round of the 2011/12 Cody's series at Ruakaka last month he was running a serious power deficit to the 7-litre Chev V8-packing Woolhouse.

Both drivers threw everything at their final battle and with the scores even the judges called One More Time.

Incredibly they still could not split the pair after that run so a second One More Time was called and the pair battled each other for a third time.

It remained close but the nod on the second One More Time run went to Whittaker so it was he who won the round - his third from six this season - and the 2011/12 Cody's D1NZ National Drifting Championship Drift King title.

Woolhouse was second for the round and third overall with Rotorua driver Brad Lauder (Alcotane Nissan S14) claiming the final step on the round podium after also having to go One More Time to get an advantage over eventual fourth place-getter Jason Sellers.

Earlier in the day Tauranga driver Cole Armstrong (V Energy Nissan Skyline R34) had topped the qualifying order only to lose his Top 16 battle with series' young gun Nico Reid (GT Refinishers Nissan S15) when his car's engine overheated when the pair went One More Time.

Other Top 16 casualties were Taupo round winner Daynom Templeman (NAC Insurance Mazda RX7) who went down to Jason Sellers, and visiting Australian driver Nigel Petrie driving Matt (Jason's brother) Sellers' Nissan S15 who was dispatched by Daniel Woolhouse.

The 2011/12 Cody's D1NZ National Drifting Championship Pro-Am title, meanwhile, went to Cam Vernon (E&H Motors/Gull Nissan Skyline R32), the Pukekohe driver claiming his fourth round win in a row at Hampton Downs on Friday from Matamata's William Foster (Bennett Motorsport SR20 Toyota AE85) and Hamilton driver Jacob Hakaraia (DTM wheels Nissan Onevia)

Vernon again topped the qualifying sheets then battled his way past Rnd 1 Pro-Am winner Russell Sifleet (Nissan S14) of Auckland, Troy Jenkins (Synthe Nissan S15) and Hakaraia before meeting Foster in the Final.

The win gave Vernon a total of 542 points, more than enough to claim the 2011/12 Pro-Am title, but Foster again ran him close, the pair's final battle also going One More Time before the judges made the call in Vernon's favour.

The championship now breaks for six months before the 2013 season starts at Manfeild in October


Points after Rnd 6 of 6

1. Curt Whittaker (Team Dilusi 2JZ Nissan Skyline R34) 498 points
2. Mike Whiddett (Red Bull/Need For Speed Mazda RX7) 483
3. Daniel Woolhouse (Castrol Edge Holden Commodore) 472
4. Gaz Whiter (Tectaloy Nissan S14) 445
5. Cole Armstrong (V Energy Nissan Skyline R34) 433
6. Darren Benjamin (Matt's Computer Services 2JZ Nissan Laurel) 416
7. Andrew Redward (Nankang Nissan S14) 380
8. Brad Lauder (Alcotane Nissan S14) 377.5
9. Daynom Templeman (NAC Insurance Mazda RX7) 367.5
10. Sky Zhou (D-Spec Nissan S15) 330.5

1. Cam Vernon (E&H Motors/Gull Nissan R32) 542 points
2. William Foster (Bennett Motorsports SR20 Toyota AE85)464
3. Vincent Hopkins (Drifting for Jesus Nissan R32) 430
4. Ryan Johnson (DKM Fabrications Nissan R32)387
5. Shane Poulton (AOSC Nissan S15) 376
6. Vincent Langhorn (Nissan Skyline R32) 320.5

Rnd 1: Oct 28-29 2011 Manfeild Feilding
Rnd 2: Nov 25-26 2011 Pukekohe Park Raceway
Rnd 3: Dec 16-17 2011 Taupo Motorsport Park Taupo
Rnd 4: Feb 10-11 2012 Mt Smart Stadium Night Round, Auckland
Rnd 5 March 09-10 2012 Northgate Business Park, Ruakaka Whangarei
Rnd 6: April 06-07 Grand Final, Hampton Downs, northern Waikato

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: NZSQ Conclude National Tour With ‘Release’ Programme

The NZSQ concluded their national tour in Wellington with a three-part programme, the triumphant final installment of which was entitled ‘Release.’ It included three pieces representing radical musical innovation... More>>

Howard Davis: The Show Must Go On - ‘La Traviata’ Opening Night Wobbles
Casting problems have beset ‘La Traviata’ since its first performance in March 1853 at Venice’s La Fenice opera house. Sadly, Saturday night’s premiere at Wellington’s newly-restored St James Theatre proved no different... More>>

Howard Davis: Dennis Villeneuve’s Dune - A Brief History

So many elements of Herbert’s novel have since become tropes of popular SciFi that Villeneuve’s film sometimes seems deceptively derivative. What makes all this nonsense essential viewing is his astonishing visual sensibility. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which has been republished by Te Papa press. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland