Tugboat the William C Daldy celebrates new waterfront home
2 August, 2012
Tugboat the William C Daldy celebrates her new waterfront home
A refurbished 76 year old tug boat is coming out of retirement to celebrate a move to her new Auckland waterfront home this weekend.
For over the past seven decades the steam tug William C Daldy (pic attached below) has been a familiar sight on the Waitemata Harbour, however for the last few years she’s been less visible, moored at Devonport wharf.
From this weekend the vessel is being given a new home at Hobson Wharf West in Viaduct Harbour timed to coincide with the Wynyard Quarter first birthday celebrations.
The move is a result of an agreement between the council controlled organisation Waterfront Auckland and the William C Daldy Preservation Society
Waterfront Auckland’s Place Manager Frith Walker says she is delighted the vessel can be accommodated in a high profile home on the central Auckland waterfront once more.
“The William C. Daldy is a fine ship and we are honoured to have her with us. The preservation society has done a wonderful job in giving her a new lease on life and we can’t wait for the boat to pull up beside her new Hobson Wharf home.”
The arrival of the Daldy comes in the wake of recent moves by the 130 year old ferry the Kestrel and the Whitbread around the World winning boat Steinlager 2 to the area and will be followed by the arrival of a fleet of classic yachts in Silo Park marina later this month.
Ms. Walker says the consolidation of such important heritage assets will be great for education and tourism purposes:
“Together these vessels pull together key strands of New Zealand’s maritime history and it really is in our best interests to assist in the preservation of them for future generations. Having them all in one space, just a stone’s throw from the Voyager Maritime Museum means we now have an incredibly rich heritage attraction for visitors to the waterfront to experience.”
The William C Daldy is to join the festivities of the Wynyard Quarter first birthday and will celebrate her new home with a morning ceremonial sailing and public sailings throughout the day on Saturday 4 August and at 1000am and 12 noon on the Sunday.
After this weekend she will again be available for trips and charters at weekends and statutory holidays with fares of $20 for adults and $10 dollars for children.
Facts and History
The William C Daldy was launched in Scotland in 1935 before departing on an 84 day delivery voyage to Auckland under her own coal fired steam power. The tug would give 41 years of excellent service to the Auckland Harbour Board before seeking semi retirement in the diligent care of The William C Daldy Preservation Society.
Today the William C Daldy remains the last living example of her type of tug, still operating in survey today, with two scotch boilers powering twin 1950hp triple expansion steam engines.
Her namesake Captain William Crush Daldy was one of early Auckland’s most accomplished and honourable citizens. He arrived here in 1841 and among his many achievements he represented Auckland in NZ’s second Parliament; he was an Auckland City Councillor; he was the first Chairman of the Auckland Harbour Board and he was one of the founders of both The New Zealand Insurance Company and The Bank of New Zealand.
The William C Daldy is licensed to carry 126 passengers plus 22 crew. It takes a minimum crew of 14 to steam the ship. She owes her very existence to her Volunteers. These Volunteers have contributed thousands of hours and dollars to the ongoing maintenance and operation of this vessel.