Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Inspirational Kiwi’s selected for prestigious Award

Inspirational Kiwi’s selected for prestigious Award

The semi finalists of the 2013 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards have been announced after extensive judging from a record number of nominations received, in this the fourth year of the Awards programme.

These semi finalists in each category were selected from a diverse range of sectors across the entire country including innovation and achievements at a national and global level in the fields of medical and science innovation, ecology, musical therapy, penal reform and the protection of our national heritage. All have been judged to be extraordinary individuals and community groups making a positive difference to New Zealand and often also to the world at large.

These include a Wellington doctor pioneering ground breaking medical procedures at a global level , a former homeless person turning the lives around of at-risk and disadvantaged youth in Christchurch, a mother who has dedicated her life to using musical therapy to enhance the quality of life for disabled children, a saviour of the Tuatara and in the community category, groups in Mataura, Hokitika and Kaikoura as well as a tiny Bay of Plenty village that delivered an extraordinary once in a life time event.

All 700 nominees of the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards nominees have been judged regionally and nationally resulting in 180 Kiwibank Local Heroes medals being awarded at public presentations throughout the country this month and the semi-finalists being determined in each category. Judges, including leaders of national significance in their fields included former Prime Minister and Awards Patron, Jim Bolger, former Olympian Beatrice Faumuina, business leaders Sir Roderick Deane, Jenny Morel, Joanne McRae and Michelle Hippolite, journalists Cameron Bennett and ambassadors for children’s charities; Dame Rosie Horton and Lianne Clarke and campaigner of animals Bob Kerridge. The CEO’s of the Royal Foundation for the Blind, Age Concern and Volunteering New Zealand were also judges.

All nominees in the Awards receive a Certificate of Acknowledgement and the three finalists in each award category will be announced publicly on the 18th January 2013 with the winners being announced at the public Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards event in Auckland on Thursday 28th February 2013. They will each receive a bespoke trophy and $5000.

Category and semi-finalist information as follows:

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year
Awarded for major contribution to the nation, outstanding service to the country and inspiration through achievement.

Semi-finalists include: from Wellington, Professor Charles Daugherty, Kim Workman, 2012 Finalist Professor Swee T Tan and from Auckland, Bill Buckley, Hinewehi Mohi, Dame Anne Salmond and David Irving. From Northland, Jeanette Richardson.

Countdown Senior New Zealander of the Year
Celebrating ongoing achievement, this category is for those aged 60 and over who have made a major difference to New Zealand.

The 10 semi-finalists include: Kieth Beck of Dunedin, Julie & Roy Bartlett, Ian Grant, Marcia Read, Gary Daverne and Thilliar Varnakulasingham of Auckland, Sister Felix Breen of Wellington and Garth McVicar from Hastings

Coca-Cola Amatil Young New Zealander of the Year
15 to 30 year olds who are making a positive impact on the nation.

The semi-finalists include:
Assil Russell of Hamilton, Damyon New and Sophie Pascoe of Christchurch, Victoria Taylor of Wellington, Lydia Ko and Sam Judd, Jordon Taylor, Shruthi Vigayakumar, William Zhang and Sam Shore of Auckland.

Mitre 10 Community of the Year
Acknowledges groups working together up and down the country to build stronger communities.

The 10 semi-finalists include:
UN Youth New Zealand, Grandparents Raising Grandchildren Trust NZ

From the South Island:
The Hawea Community Assoc., the Mataura Community, the Hokitika Community and the Kaikoura Seafest

From the North Island:
Uawa – Tolaga Bay, the Hawkes Leaders Group, Eketahuna Our Town and the Patea Youth Trust

Kiwibank Local Heroes Award
Recognises everyday people doing extraordinary things in their local communities.

The semi-finalists include:
Jade Temepara of Ashburton, Paul Hughes of Halcombe, Des Smith of Wellington, Kaila Colblin of Christchurch , Scott Gilmour of Auckland, Paddy Henderson of Rangiora and Jim Morunga of Napier, Jim Dowman of Tauranga, Douglas Cooper of Gisborne and Vivien Leonard of Paeroa.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: NZSQ Conclude National Tour With ‘Release’ Programme

The NZSQ concluded their national tour in Wellington with a three-part programme, the triumphant final installment of which was entitled ‘Release.’ It included three pieces representing radical musical innovation... More>>

Howard Davis: The Show Must Go On - ‘La Traviata’ Opening Night Wobbles
Casting problems have beset ‘La Traviata’ since its first performance in March 1853 at Venice’s La Fenice opera house. Sadly, Saturday night’s premiere at Wellington’s newly-restored St James Theatre proved no different... More>>

Howard Davis: Dennis Villeneuve’s Dune - A Brief History

So many elements of Herbert’s novel have since become tropes of popular SciFi that Villeneuve’s film sometimes seems deceptively derivative. What makes all this nonsense essential viewing is his astonishing visual sensibility. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which has been republished by Te Papa press. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland