Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Spring Has Sprung Show

Spring Has Sprung Show


Mosgiel’s Claudia Hay has started the new season in winning form.

Riding her starry stallion Euro Sport Centavos, the pair took out the Country TV Horse Grand Prix at the South Canterbury North Otago (SCNO) Area’s Spring Has Sprung Show at Waimate today.

Just four started the class, with just Hay and young rider Olivia Robertson aboard Ngahiwi Cisco going through to a four-fault jump off. Hay proved too strong taking the honours going clear in 48.08 seconds.

The Pony Grand Prix went to Grace O’Sullivan on Galaxy Masterpiece. Just five started, with O’Sullivan and Steffi Whittaker on Moonlight Glow fighting it out against the clock. First out, Whittaker was fast stopping the clock in 38.87 but paid for it with a rail down. With the benefit of going second, O’Sullivan posted a lovely clear to take the win.

The newly introduced South Canterbury Horse Mini Prix was won by Nicole White (Invercargill) on Cricklewood Ace in a tight jump-off, while the Team Cubbitt Pony Mini Prix went to Jamiee Bird (Rakaia) on Showtym Image. Both series’ have been added to South Island programmes to replace the old 1* heights which have been abolished under Equestrian Sports New Zealand’s move to a two-tier system in favour to the old 1, 2 and 3* shows three-tier system .

The first round of the SCNO speed accumulators were also well supported by riders and the public alike with Kaikoura’s Louise Marriott and Concur speeding home in 62.53 seconds to take the 22-strong speed horse, while the Barber Well Drilling Speed Pony Accumulator went to Jamiee Bird on Showtym Image.

Country TV Horse Grand Prix: Claudia Hay (Mosgiel) Euro Sport Centavos 1, Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Cisco 2, Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Kiwi Crusher 3, Kelly Evans (Cave) Hammertime 4.

South Canterbury Saddlery Horse Mini Prix: Nicole White (Invercargill) Cricklewood Ace 1, Claudia Hay (Mosgiel) Euro Sport Heartbreaker 2, Rik Van Mittenburg (Winton) Truly Unique 3, Kate Cavanagh (West Melton) Vermont 4, Angus Taylor (Ohoka) Oak As 5, Tegan Fitzsimon (Rolleston) Alacazam MH 6.

Pony Grand Prix Series: Grace O’Sullivan (Rangiora) Galaxy Masterpiece 1, Steffi Whittaker (Christchurch) Moonlight Glow 2, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Miss Mae West 3, Bailey Rutter (Otago) Pixel 4.

Team Cubbitt Pony Mini Prix Series: Jamie Bird (Rakaia) Showtym Image 1, Kaitlin Feast (West Melton) Code Spree 2, Scott Wylie (Southland) MF Spot Me 3, Kate Beatie (Mosgiel) Just Lucky 4, Courtney Townsend (Canterbury) Watch Me Cruise 5, Angusta Thompson (Darfield) Simply Striking 6. Speed Horse Accumulator: Louise Marriott (Kaikoura) Concur 1, Angus Taylor (Ohoka) Ngahiwi Wirey 2, Tyler McKee (Gore) Repertoire II 3, Anna Douglass (Timaru) St Henry 4, Madison Crowe (Rakaia) Brogan 5, Helen Scott (Cave) Fairlie 6.

Barber Well Drilling Speed Pony Accumulator: Jamiee Bird (Rakaia) Showtym Image 1, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Miss Mae West 2, Scott Wylie (Southland) MF Spot Me 3, Bailey Rutter (Otago) Kennybrook 007 4, Molly Buist-Brown (Burnham) Yippee Ki Yay 5, Courtney Townsend (Canterbury) Watch Me Cruise 6.

Goldengrove 7 Year Old Series: Chris Harris (Christchurch) Zilco Glenbrook Archie Bunker 1, Brad Cunningham (Christchurch) Elleway 2.

6 Year Old Series: Nick Baddeley (West Melton) Icebreaker MP 1=, Harry Feast (West Melton) Double J Bouncer 1=.

5 Year Old Series: Olivia Robertson (Ohoka) Dartanian 1=, Lauren Enright (Outram) On The Rocks 1=, Louise Marriott (Kaikoura) Ariados 1=.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Dennis Villeneuve’s Dune - A Brief History

So many elements of Herbert’s novel have since become tropes of popular SciFi that Villeneuve’s film sometimes seems deceptively derivative. What makes all this nonsense essential viewing is his astonishing visual sensibility. More>>

Howard Davis: The French Dispatch - Wes Anderson's New Yorker Tribute

Very few contemporary American film directors can claim to have earned the title of auteur, but for sheer visual invention and cinematic joie de vivre, there is no more consistent director working in Hollywood today than Wes Anderson. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which won the Non Fiction Award at the Montana New Zealand Book Awards in 2009, and has now been republished by Te Papa press. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland