Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


2019 Pikihuia Awards Finalist Announcement

The Māori Literature Trust is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2019 Pikihuia Awards.

The judges were impressed with the diversity of the stories and great confidence in the writing.

‘The stories from the First-time Writers in English varied in topic, pace and characters – from colonisation to tūrangawaewae, poverty to paedophilia,’ says judge Robyn Bargh.

‘I’m pleased that there were writers willing to push the boundaries of what a short story can be. Overall, the writers have created vivid worlds and characters which, in turn, create engaging stories. Ka rawe!’ says Whiti Hereaka, judge of the Emerging Writers in English.

A total of 215 entries were received, and the judges have selected 14 finalists. The winner of each category will receive a cash prize of $2000, and two highly commended finalists in each category will receive a cash prize of $500 each.

The finalists for the 2019 Pikihuia Awards are:

First-time Writer in te Reo Māori

Judged by Scotty Morrison (Ngāti Whakaue), news presenter for Te Karere and Marae, author of bestselling language guides and te reo Māori champion.

Pine CampbellPara Pounamu, (Ngāti Porou / Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa) Tokomaru Bay
Hineteahurangi Merenape Durie NgataTangaroa Pukanohi Nui, (Ngāti Kauwhata, Te Aitanga ā Hauiti, Ngāti Porou, Rangitāne) Palmerston North
Amiria StirlingWhakaurupā Taku Aroha, (Te Whānau a Apanui) Wellington

First-time Writer in English

Judged by Robyn Bargh (Te Arawa, Ngāti Awa), founder of Huia Publishers and Chair of the Māori Literature Trust.

Tracey AndersenMurray’s Special Day, (Ngāti Porou) Richmond
Penny SmitsWhite Sheep, (Ngāpuhi/Te Rawara/Urban Māori) Victoria, Australia
Bronwyn Te KoetiNo te Uku – From the Clay, (Kai Tahu) Timaru

Emerging Writer in te Reo Māori

Judged by Tuehu Harris (Ngāti Kahungunu), Director at Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori.

Tiahomarama FairhallTiakina! Tiakina! (Te Arawa, Mataatua) Rotorua

Emerging Writer in English

Judged by Whiti Hereaka (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Te Arawa), award-winning author and playwright and trustee of the Māori Literature Trust.

Cassandra BarnettTunneling, (Raukawa) Wellington
Lauren KeenanTina’s Coming on Tuesday, (Te Ātiawa) Wellington
Annette MorehuAunty’s Teeth, (Te Aupōuri/Tūhoe) Ōrākei

Published Writer in te Reo Māori

Judged by Poia Rewi (Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāti Manawa, Te Arawa), academic and author renowned for his work in the revitalisation of te reo Māori.

Hēmi KellyKo te Ao tō Marae, (Ngāti Maniapoto) Auckland
Zeb NicklinTe Kai a te Rangatira, (Pāhauwera, Tūhoe, Tāmanuhiri, Rangitāne) Palmerston North
Zeb NicklinTe Kurī Hīroki o te Āporo Nui, (Pāhauwera, Tūhoe, Tāmanuhiri, Rangitāne) Palmerston North

Published Writer in English

Judged by Carol Hirschfeld (Ngāti Porou), accomplished broadcaster and Head of Video/Audio and Content Partnerships at Stuff.

Olivia GilesRocket Ship Pyjamas and Plum Jam, (Te Āti Awa, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Kahungunu, Te Hau Nui-a-Pāpārangi, Te Whānau-ā-Apanui) Ōtaki
Olivia GilesMumsy, (Te Āti Awa, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Kahungunu, Te Hau Nui-a-Pāpārangi, Te Whānau-ā-Apanui) Ōtaki
Kim Maryanne HarrisKokiri ki Mua – Charge Forward, (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Tūwharetoa ki Kawerau, Te Arawa, Ngāti Awa, Ngāti Porou) Wainuiomata

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at Te Wharewaka in Wellington on the afternoon of Saturday, 14 September.

The Pikihuia Awards are made possible through the support of the sponsors: Creative New Zealand, Te Puni Kōkiri and Huia Publishers.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: 1917's 1,000 Yard Stare

Sam Mendes has created a terrible and barbarous trek, one that we appreciate all the more for being catapulted right into the midst of this ear-splitting melee from the film's opening sequence. More>>

Floorball: NZ To Host World Cup Of Floorball In 2022

In a major coup for a minnow nation in the European-dominated sport of floorball, New Zealand has won the rights to host one of the sport’s marque international events. More>>

National Voyage Continues: Tuia 250 Ends

Tuia 250 has unleashed an unstoppable desire to keep moving forward and continue the kōrero about who we are, say the co-chairs of the Tuia 250 National Coordinating Committee, Dame Jenny Shipley and Hoturoa Barclay-Kerr. More>>


Te Papa: New Chief Executive From Its Own Staff

Courtney Johnston has been appointed as the new Chief Executive of Te Papa. Ms Johnston will take up the role in December 2019. Since its founding, Te Papa has had a dual leadership model, and as Tumu Whakarae|Chief Executive, Johnston will share the leadership with Kaihautū Dr Arapata Hakiwai. More>>


Over 150 Productions: NZ Fringe 2020 Has Launched

The upcoming festival will be held at 40 venues all over Wellington Region from 28 February to 21 March, and includes every genre possible—theatre, comedy, dance, music, clowning, cabaret, visual art, children’s shows and more! More>>





  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland