Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Speakers announced for 2019 TEDxAuckland November event

Confirmed speakers:

- Sonya Renee Taylor
o Artist / Author / Activist - Founder of
- Kris Gledhill
o Human Rights Lawyer / Author / Law Academic - Lecturer at AUT
- Simon Che de Boer
o Photogrammetrist / Entrepreneur / Humanist - founder & CEO of Reality Virtual
- Dmitry Selitskiy
o Founder and CEO of Thought-wired
- Thomas Owen
o Inequality Researcher / Author / Teacher - Lecturer at AUT
- Nathan Joe
o Writer / Playwright / Actor - ‘Scenes from a Yellow Peril’ playwright.
- Brianna Fruean
o Activist / Environmental Advocate for Samoa / Second year student at Auckland University.
- Rose Northey
o Poet / Illustrator
See here for more info on the speakers.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Three Stocking Stuffers from Te Papa Press

Te Papa has published three wonderfully informative and beautifully produced volumes that describe the people and cultures encountered during Cook's voyages and the Māori cultural treasures he discovered there. More>>

40 Years On: Prime Minister Delivers Erebus Apology

"That loss, in and of itself, was huge. It sent ripples across the country, and trauma that those who weren’t directly affected would probably struggle to fathom. But that loss and grief was compounded. It was undeniably worsened by the events that followed." More>>


The Testaments: Margaret Atwood Announces Three NZ Events

The evening will also feature Atwood’s remarkable career, her diverse range of works and why she has returned to the fictional world of Gilead 34 years later. More>>

Transit Of Mercury: Historic Viewing Recreated

Keen stargazers gathered at Te Whanganui o Hei on the Coromandel Peninsula to watch a rare astronomic event this morning. More>>

Forest And Bird: Hoiho Crowned Bird Of The Year For 2019

Widely considered an underdog, the valiant hoiho (yellow-eyed penguin) has won Bird of the Year, a first for seabirds in the competition's 14-year history. More>>





  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland