Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2011 Winners

Media Release: Monday 5 December 2011

From: Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards

Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2011

Theatre excellence in Wellington was celebrated in the 20th annual Chapman Tripp Theatre Award’s 2011 ceremony, which was held at the Opera House on Sunday 4th December.

I, George Nepia was the major winner on the night, taking two directing awards for newcomer Jason Te Kare, The Pro Actors and Gail Cowan Management Award for Actor of the Year for Jarrod Rawiri and The Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year.

The Critic’s Wild Card was recognition for the stellar advancements of Johann Nortje’s in AV Design. His work in shows Wake Less, Hear to See and When the Rain Stops Falling were consistently exciting and a sign of great theatrical developments to come with this medium.

Wellington Mayor, Celia Wade Brown, presented the Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre to actor and director Jim Moriarty Jim was honoured not only for his work in theatre and film over the last 40 years, but also his outstanding commitment to training his Te Rakau boys, a performing arts organisation that works with at-risk communities, creating and performing theatre in schools, marae and prisons, as well as professional theatres. His honour was recognised by a resounding and stunning haka.

A real delight of the ceremony was the Shoreline Cabaret Singers: THE CAB SAVS, featuring talented Wellington theatre community members Martyn Wood, Jessica Robinson, Bryony Skillington, Nick Dunbar, Carmel McGlone, Gareth Farr/Lilith, and Michael Nicholas Williams.

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards
wish to sincerely thank all the sponsors, the theatres, the theatre community and the wonderful audiences continuing to make Wellington such an exciting Cultural Capital!

The Award Winners for 2011 are:

The Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to the Theatre
Jim Moriarty

Critics Wild Card
Johann Nortje for outstanding AV design (Wake Less, Hear to See, When the Rain Stops Falling)

The Absolutely Positively Wellington Award for Most Original Production of the Year
Hear to See - Capital E National Theatre for Children

Downstage Theatre Award for the Most Promising Male Newcomer of the Year
Simon K Leary - Mates & Lovers

Circa Award Donated by TACT for the Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year
Lauren Gibson - August: Osage County

Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School & Victoria University of Wellington Award for Most Promising Director of the Year
Jason Te Kare - I, George Nepia

Brancott Estate Award for Costume Designer of the Year
Gillie Coxill - The Spy Who Wouldn't Die Again

Grouse Lighting Award for Lighting Designer of the Year
Marcus McShane - When the Rain Stops Falling

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year
Andrew Foster - The Lead Wait

Park Road Post Production Sound Designer of the Year
Chris Ward - The Lead Wait

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Award for Outstanding Composer of Music
Richard Nunns - Hear to See

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year
Sponsored by Bats Theatre & Taki Rua Productions
Ralph McCubbin Howell - The Engine Room

The Playmarket/ Capital E – National Theatre for Children – Outstanding New New Zealand Play of the Year
Slouching Toward Bethlehem - Dean Parker

The Orbit Corporate Travel Award for Supporting Actress of the Year
Erin Banks - The Engine Room

Chapman Tripp Award for Supporting Actor of the Year
Christopher Brougham - When the Rain Stops Falling

The Proactors ad Gail Cowan Management Award for Actor of the Year
Jarod Rawiri - I, George Nepia

Chapman Tripp Theatre Award for Actress of the Year
Jennifer Ludlam - August: Osage County

Emerging Artist Trust Wellington Accolade for Outstanding Performance
Michelle Amas - August: Osage County

eCaster Accolade for Outstanding Performance
Phil Grieve - Slouching Toward Bethlehem

The Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year
Jason Te Kare - I, George Nepia

Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year
I, George Nepia - Tawata Productions


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


ASB Classic: Serena Williams Confirmed For 2020

One of the biggest names in sport has confirmed she will be returning to the ASB Classic in 2020. Twenty-three time Grand Slam singles champion Serena Williams will return to Auckland’s ASB Tennis Arena to challenge for the ASB Classic title. More>>

Netball: Taurua To Coach Silver Ferns Through Two More Campaigns

Netball New Zealand has confirmed Taurua will guide the Silver Ferns as they take on the Australian Diamonds in October’s Cadbury Netball Series (Constellation Cup), along with the Northern Quad Series in late January. More>>


Bigger But Less Novel Than The Parrot: Giant Fossil Penguin Find

The discovery of Crossvallia waiparensis, a monster penguin from the Paleocene Epoch (between 66 and 56 million years ago), adds to the list of gigantic, but extinct, New Zealand fauna. These include the world’s largest parrot, a giant eagle, giant burrowing bat, the moa and other giant penguins. More>>

Wellington: Little Blue Penguins Near Station Again

There have been more sightings of penguins near Wellington Railway Station on Sunday night, this time waddling into a parking building above a burger restaurant. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland