Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Labour completes selections for the 2011 General Election

Labour completes selections for the 2011 General Election

The Labour Party has now completed all electorate and list selections for the 2011 General Election. The Labour Party has now selected electorate candidates in all 70 electorates and confirmed its Party list in April 2011.

The Party has a range of both experienced and strong new performers to represent New Zealanders, according to Labour Party General Secretary, Chris Flatt.

“The Party began its selection process last year and our candidates are campaigning strongly on stopping our public assets from being sold, increasing the minimum wage, ensuring young people are earning or learning and removing GST from fresh fruit and vegetables”.

The full list of Labour Party candidates are:
• Auckland Central – Jacinda Ardern
• Bay of Plenty – Carol Devoy-Heena
• Botany – Chao-Fu Wu
• Christchurch Central – Brendon Burns
• Christchurch East – Lianne Dalziel
• Clutha-Southland – Tat Loo
• Coromandel – Hugh Kininmonth
• Dunedin North – David Clark
• Dunedin South – Clare Curran
• East Coast – Moana Mackey
• East Coast Bays – Vivienne Goldsmith
• Epsom – David Parker
• Hamilton East – Sehai Orgad
• Hamilton West – Sue Moroney
• Hauraki-Waikato – Nanaia Mahuta
• Helensville – Jeremy Greenbrook-Held
• Hunua – Richard Hills
• Hutt South – Trevor Mallard
• Ikaroa-Rawhiti – Parekura Horomia
• Ilam – John Parsons
• Invercargill – Lesley Soper
• Kaikoura – Liz Collyns
• Mana – Kris Faafoi
• Mangere – Su’a William Sio
• Maungakiekie – Carol Beaumont
• Manukau East – Ross Robertson
• Manurewa – Louisa Wall
• Mt Albert – David Shearer
• Mt Roskill – Phil Goff
• Napier – Stuart Nash
• Nelson – Maryan Street
• New Lynn – David Cunliffe
• New Plymouth – Andrew Little
• Northcote – Paula Gillon
• Northland – Lynette Stewart
• North Shore – Ben Clark
• Ohariu – Charles Chauvel
• Otaki – Peter Foster
• Pakuranga – Sunny Kaushal
• Palmerston North – Iain Lees-Galloway
• Papakura – Jerome Mika
• Port Hills – Ruth Dyson
• Rangitata – Julian Blanchard
• Rangitikei – Josie Pagani
• Rimutaka – Chris Hipkins
• Rodney – Christine Rose
• Rongotai – Annette King
• Rotorua – Steve Chadwick
• Selwyn – Joanne McLean
• Tamaki – Nick Bakulich
• Tamaki Makaurau – Shane Jones
• Taranaki-King Country – Rick Barker
• Taupo – Frances Campbell
• Tauranga – Deborah Mahuta-Coyle
• Te Atatu – Phil Twyford
• Te Tai Hauauru – Soraya Peke-Mason
• Te Tai Tokerau – Kelvin Davies
• Te Tai Tonga – Rino Tirikatene
• Tukituki – Julia Haydon-Carr
• Waiariki – Louis Te Kani
• Waikato – Kate Sutton
• Waimakariri – Clayton Cosgrove
• Wairarapa – Michael Bott
• Waitakere – Carmel Sepuloni
• Waitaki – Barry Monks
• Wellington Central – Grant Robertson
• West Coast-Tasman – Damien O’Conner
• Whanganui – Hamish McDouall
• Whangarei – Pat Newman
• Wigram – Megan Woods


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On Malaysia Exposing Our Dodgy Policies On China

Last week, we all owed a vote of thanks to Malaysian PM Mahathir Mohamad for breaking with protocol during his bilateral meeting in Singapore with New Zealand PM Jacinda Ardern. Reportedly, Mahathir used the photo opportunity phase of the meeting – which usually involves just an exchange of smiles and pleasantries before the media is sent out of the room – to launch into matters of genuine substance.

By doing so, Mahathir usefully exposed how New Zealand is trying to make a virtue out of sitting on the fence over the South China Sea dispute. More>>


Joint Statement: Chile President's NZ Visit

At the invitation of the Right Honourable Jacinda Ardern, Prime Minister of New Zealand, His Excellency the President of the Republic of Chile, Sebastián Piñera, undertook a State Visit to New Zealand on 19 November 2018... More>>


Climate Change: Top Academics Call On Government To Take Action

One hundred and fifty academics and researchers from around Aotearoa, including Dame Anne Salmond, Emeriti Professors and several Fellows of the Royal Society, have signed a strongly-worded open letter to the Government demanding bold and urgent action to tackle climate change. More>>


Teacher Qualifications, Class Sizes: Ten Year Plan For Early Learning

“Moving towards 100 percent qualified teachers in early childhood education centres and improving adult:child ratios are among some of the key proposals for change put forward by the sector and experts in the new draft ten year strategic plan for early learning,” Chris Hipkins said. More>>


Teacher Strikes: Meeting, March And Rally In Wellington

Throughout the Wellington region the NZEI rolling strikes entered their final day Friday. Thousands of teachers met in Wellington, Kapiti, Porirua and the Wairarapa. More>>


14/11: Two Years’ Progress Since The Kaikoura Earthquake

Mayor John Leggett said it was a day for reflection, but also a time to recognise the work by many people to support progress towards recovery made across Marlborough since November 2016. More>>


Pike River: Mine Drift Re-Entry Plan To Proceed

“I’ve decided the Te Kāhui Whakamana Rua Tekau Mā Iwa - Pike River Recovery Agency, recommended course of action to enter the drift, using the existing access tunnel, is by far the safest option,” said Andrew Little. More>>


Appointments: New High Commissioner To Australia Announced

“Dame Annette King needs no introduction given her long running career as a parliamentarian where she has previously held a number senior Cabinet portfolios, including Justice, Police and Health. She also was Parliament’s longest serving female MP with 30 years’ service,” said Mr Peters. More>>





InfoPages News Channels