Gordon Campbell | Parliament TV | Parliament Today | Video | Questions Of the Day | Search


Apec Trade Ministers Meeting: Delegations

MEDIA STATEMENT (with amendments)

Sunday 27 June, 1999


The Chair of the meeting of APEC Ministers Responsible for Trade (MRT), New Zealand Trade Minister Hon Lockwood Smith PhD, today announced the delegations to attend the meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday:

Economy Delegation Head Delegates

Australia Hon Tim Fischer 22
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister
for Trade

Brunei HE Pehin Deto Abdul Rahman Taib 11
Daruassalam Minister for Industry & Primary

Canada HE Mr Bob Speller 31
Parliamentary Secretary to the
Minister for International Trade

Chile Hon Mr Jorge Levia Lavalle 10
Minister of the Economy

People's Republic HE Mr Long Yongu 13
of China Chief Trade Negotiator and Vice
Minister (MOFTEC)

Hong Kong, China Mr Chau Tak Hay 19
Secretary for Trade and Industry

Indonesia HE Mr Rahadi Ramelan 09
Minister for Industry and Trade

Japan Hon Mr Kaoru Yosano 88
Minister of International Trade
and Industry

HE Mr Koichi Haraguchi
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Republic of Korea HE Mr Han Duck-Soo 13
Minister for Trade

Malaysia HE Tan Sri Asmat Kamaluddin 09
Secretary General, Ministry of
International Trade and Industry

Mexico Dr Luis Fernando de la Calle Pardo 08
Undersecretary for International Trade

New Zealand Hon Lockwood Smith PhD 22
(Chair) Minister for International Trade

Papua New Guinea Hon Ian Ling-Stuckey 06
Minister for Commerce and Industry

Peru HE Mr Alfredo Ferrero 12
Vice Minister of Integration and
International Trade Negotiations

Philippines HE Mr Jose Pardo 07
Secretary of Trade and Industry

Russia HE Mr Vladimir Karastin 02
Deputy Trade Minister

Singapore Brigadier General George Yeo 14
Minister of Trade and Industry

Chinese Taipei Hon Dr Chih-Kang Wang 17
Minister for Economic Affairs

Thailand Dr Supachai Panitchpakdi 08
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of

USA Amb Richard Fisher 23
Office of the US Trade Representative

Viet Nam HE Truong Dinh Tuyen 06
Minister of Trade

APEC Secretariat Amb Timothy Hannah 10
Executive Director

Amb Serbini Ali
Deputy Executive Director

ASEAN Dr Setboonsarng Suthad 03
Dep Secretary-General, ASEAN

PECC HE Mr Roberto R Romulo 03
Chair, PECC

SPF Hon Mr Willie Jimmy 02
Deputy Prime Minister & Minister for
Trade and Business Development

"The 368 delegate turnout, and the fact that every economy is represented at a very high level, demonstrates the importance these economies give to the APEC process," Dr Smith said.

Dr Smith said that there had been personnel changes for four economies in the last few days. Malaysia, Peru, Russia and the United States would now be represented by Deputy Trade Ministers or Permanent Heads of the Trade Ministries.

"We can be confident that the meeting will contribute very positively to APEC's important long term goals." For personal reasons US Trade Representative Charlene Barshefsky will not now be attending, but the presence of her two Deputies, Ambassadors Richard Fisher and Sue Esserman means that the US is still represented at the highest levels of Government.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Joseph Cederwall: Building a Community Newsroom

The “Scoop 3.0” Transition Plan
There is good reason to believe that a new path and a better future is possible for Scoop in 2019 as a pioneering independent Media company. A combination of new technology, ideas, institutions and business models and a renewed energy and commitment by the Scoop team, means Scoop aims to be at the forefront of the development of this renaissance that we term ‘News 3.0’.

By opening up Scoop’s structure to community ownership and exploring decentralised technology through the blockchain we can ensure the public has a stake in this enterprise and a say in its development. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Jami-Lee Ross (And The New Hobbit Law)

Clearly, Jami-Lee Ross is not waging a normal form of political warfare, with agreed rules of combat and rational cost/benefit calculations.

This is politics-as-terrorism where everything is being sacrificed by the man in the bomb vest in order to remove Simon Bridges as the leader of the National Party. More>>

Text Messages Released: National On $100,000 Donation(s)
The Botany Electorate of the National Party received 8 donations, and Mr Ross declared 8 donations to us. More>>


Film Industry Working Group:

Three Killed: DOC Supporting Family, Colleagues After Helicopter Crash

The Department of Conservation (DOC) is rallying around family and colleagues of the staff who died in a helicopter crash this morning in Wanaka... The helicopter, with two DOC staff on board, was on its way to undertake tahr control in the Haast area when it crashed. More>>


Political Donations: Greens Call For Tighter Anonymity Rules And Public Funding

“It is clear that those vested interests have a tangible influence on the decision making of political parties. This is a threat to democracy and should change.” More>>


Education Amendment Bill Passes: Urgency Sought For Partnership School Treaty Claim

The claim takes issue with the acts and omissions of the Crown in respect of the closure of Partnership Schools | Kura Hourua. More>>


Salvation Army Paper: Call For Public Housing Investment

To meet these future demands the report suggests the government needs to look beyond the private rental market and begin to invest heavily into home-ownership programmes and more public and social housing. More>>


Cull: Himalayan Tahr Control Operation Proceeding

“The target of controlling 10,000 Himalayan tahr over the next eight months remains. The revised plan provides for a staged control operation with increased reporting to the Tahr Liaison Group...” More>>


Health: Petitions To Fund Breast Cancer Drugs

Women marching to Parliament today, to present two petitions calling for Government funding of vital medicines, have 100% support from a coalition representing than 30 breast cancer organisations. More>>


Animal Welfare Advisory Committee: Report On Rodeo Practices Released

The independent committee that advises the Minister responsible for Animal Welfare, has today released a report on animal welfare in rodeos, together with advice to the Minister making recommendations to improve the welfare of the animals in rodeos. More>>





InfoPages News Channels