Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Shortlist for 2019 NZer of the Year Award announced

The New Zealander of the Year Awards Office is pleased to announce the 10 people shortlisted for the 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Award.

They are:
• Andrew Becroft (Wellington)
• Annah Stretton (Hamilton)
• Lesley Elliot (Dunedin)
• Lisa King (Auckland)
• Dr Marewa Glover (Auckland)
• Mike King (Auckland)
• Moira Lawler (Auckland)
• Robert Bruce (Auckland)
• Sir Peter Gluckman (Auckland)
• Stacey Shortall (Wellington)

Comment from Chief Judge Cameron Bennett
“What defines each of these 10 Kiwis is their commitment to bridging that all-important gap between advocacy and action at the grassroots level and decision-making in the corridors of power.

“They not only speak truth to power on issues that matter to all of us, they go that crucial step further – making positive change a reality.

“They are tackling issues that are not simply ‘of the moment’, they are issues that have so often proven too tough to consider, let alone solve. But not for these New Zealanders – they are not only coming up with the answers, they are making things happen.

“All New Zealanders should rightly be proud of these 10 remarkable people.”

The annual New Zealander of the Year awards are in their 10th year. The awards are a celebration of Kiwis passionate and committed to making New Zealand a better place to live for everyone. The awards are open to all New Zealanders to honour extraordinary Kiwis whose selflessness, creativity, and vision make us proud to call New Zealand home.

A total of 448 nominations were received for the 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year award.

In January, the judging panel – comprising representatives of all the awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will announce the three finalists to be be considered for the 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year title, as well as other category finalists.

The winner will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala in Auckland on Thursday, 13 February 2019.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year award are: Kristine Bartlett (2018), Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Other categories

The 2019 New Zealander of the Year Awards also honour New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five other award categories.

The semifinalists for these categories are:

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year

• Kendall Flutey (Christchurch)
• Shay Wright (Auckland)
• Samantha Jones (Canterbury)
• Jason Boberg (Auckland)
• Alexia Hilbertidou (Auckland)
• Alliv Samson (Auckland)
• Jazz Thornton (Auckland)
• Keneti James Fitzgerald Apa (KJ Apa) (Auckland)
• Nicole Hone (Wellington)
• Sophie Pascoe (Christchurch)

Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year

• Dame Kate Harcourt (Wellington)
• Dr Bill (William) Glass (Wellington)
• Ian Templeton (Wellington)
• Lexie Matheson (Auckland)
• Margaret Pittaway (Lowburn)
• Michael Corballis (Auckland)
• Paul Geertson (Hastings)
• Dr Rosamund Vallings (Auckland)
• Sir Mason Durie (Palmerston North)
• Sue Kedgley (Wellington)

Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year

• Dr Mark Sagar – Soul Machines (Auckland)
• Ian Taylor – Animation Research Ltd (Dunedin)
• Sunfed Foods Ltd (Auckland)
• Sam Stubbs – Simplicity Kiwisaver (Auckland)
• Hivemind (Christchurch)
• Dr Alistair Scarfe & Steven Saunders – Robotics Plus (Whakamarama)
• Spring Sheep Milk Co (Auckland)
• Fibre-gen – Hitman (Christchurch)
• Chris Heaslip – Pushpay (Auckland)
• Auror (Auckland)

Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year

• Pillars (national)
• Kaibosh Food Rescue (Wellington)
• Dignity (national)
• Te Whangai Trust (Auckland/Waikato)
• The Valley Project (Dunedin)
• Zealandia (Wellington)
• Menzshed (national)
• Collaborate (national)
• Kiwi Coast (Northland)
• The Pūkeko Centre Project (Christchurch)

Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

• Jamie Allan (New Plymouth)
• Pera Barrett (Wellington)
• Jo Brady (Waimate)
• Glen Green (South Auckland)
• Barbara Halliwell (Wellington)
• Carl Jackson (Hamilton)
• Annaliese Johnston (Auckland)
• Jit Kaur (Auckland)
• Derek Lardelli (Gisborne)
• Verna McFelin (Christchurch)

More information on the 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards is at www.nzawards.org.nz.

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On How Women Are Suffering The Most From The Covid Economic Recession

Both here and abroad, the Covid-19 economic recession has been disastrous for women workers and their families. In November, young women below 30 in particular were feeling the consequences:

Of concern is the sustained deterioration in youth employment, particularly for females, with a -4.3% pa drop in filled jobs for females aged below 30, and a 3.9%pa drop for males aged below 30....More>>


A New Year: No politicians at Rātana in 2021

Annual celebrations at Rātana pā will be different this year, amid a decision to hold an internal hui for church adherents only… More>>


Covid: Border Exception for 1000 International Students

The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began....More>>





InfoPages News Channels