Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Goff puts focus on climate change

Monday 4 November 2019

Goff puts focus on climate change, CCO oversight with committee restructure

Mayor Phil Goff has unveiled changes to Auckland Council’s committee structure, including establishing a new climate change committee and new subcommittees for CCO oversight and value for money.

Phil Goff said, “Climate change is a critical issue for our city, our country and globally. Acting urgently to address the risks it poses to our environment and to future generations is essential if we are to leave a positive legacy for our children and grandchildren.

“The Environment and Climate Change committee will lead the council’s response to the climate emergency and help to ensure that climate change mitigation and adaptation, and the protection of our natural environment, is at the forefront of council decision-making.”

The committee will be chaired by North Shore councillor Richard Hills – the youngest chair since the super city was established – with Waitematā and Gulf councillor Pippa Coom taking on the deputy role.

A Community committee will also be established, with the Mayor appointing Manukau councillor Alf Filipaina as chair and Albert-Eden-Puketāpapa councillor Cathy Casey as deputy chair. Its remit will be wide-ranging, encompassing arts, culture and heritage, economic development, sport and recreation and administering community grants.

Phil Goff said separating the environment and community functions into stand-alone committees would enhance the council’s decision-making on some of the issues most important to Aucklanders.

“It’s about protecting our environment, meeting our obligations to act on climate change, and putting our communities at the heart of everything we do,” he said.

Other changes include the creation of new subcommittees for CCO oversight and Value for Money and establishing new portfolios for councillors in the areas of Māori Outcomes, Homelessness, Parks/Open Space, Three Harbours, Ethnic Communities and Heritage.

Phil Goff said the new CCO subcommittee will give councillors clearer oversight of the organisations and help to ensure they are more responsive to elected members and accountable to ratepayers.

“Aucklanders have expressed frustration with some aspects of CCO performance and delivery, and with their level of responsiveness to the concerns of communities.

“The establishment of this subcommittee, which includes appointing liaison councillors between the CCO boards and Auckland Council’s governing body, will ensure that they are working in the best interests of Auckland and its communities.”

“It will be chaired by Deputy Mayor Bill Cashmore, with Manurewa-Papakura Ward councillor Angela Dalton as deputy chair.

“The Value for Money subcommittee will build on the progress we have already made over the past three years to find efficiencies and eliminate waste and duplication and will ensure that we are getting the best value for money for ratepayers.”

The subcommittee will report to the Finance and Performance committee, which will be chaired by Ōrākei councillor Desley Simpson, supported by Waitākere’s Shane Henderson as deputy chair.

The Planning committee will continue to be chaired by councillor Chris Darby, with councillor Josephine Bartley picking up the deputy role.

The Regulatory committee will be chaired by Waitākere councillor Linda Cooper, with councillor Josephine Bartley as deputy.

“The success of the Regulatory committee is critical for the effective governing of our city and I’m pleased to announce that councillors Linda Cooper and Josephine Bartley will be bringing their skills and experience to the table as chair and deputy chair respectively.”

Other subcommittee chairs and deputy chairs include:

Greg Sayers and John Watson (Strategic Procurement)
Desley Simpson and Tracy Mulholland (Value for Money)
Sharon Stewart and Wayne Walker (Civil Defence and Emergency Management)
Phil Goff and Christine Fletcher (Appointments and Performance Review)
Daniel Newman and an independent assessor (Audit and Risk)

Phil Goff said, “With the committee structures now in place, I am looking forward to working with all of our councillors to build on the foundations we have laid to make Auckland a world-class city we can all be proud of.”


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Whakaari / White Island Eruption: Body recovery operation

Six bodies have been prepared for air lifting off Whakaari / White Island and the process to transport them to HMNZS Wellington by helicopter has begun.. More>>

Police Update: Plan To Recover Bodies
"I can now confirm that we are finalising a plan to recover the bodies from Whakaari / White Island tomorrow morning. Families will be briefed on the operation at 4.30pm and Deputy Commissioner Mike Clement will speak with media in Whakatane." More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Welfare Vs Infrastructure Spending

If New Zealand has a pressing need to stimulate its flagging economy, it seems very weird that the government is choosing a $12 billion package of infrastructure spending – mainly on road and rail – that by definition, will take a very long time to deliver their stimulatory benefits ... More>>

New Reports: "Immediate Commitment To Doing Justice Differently"

Justice Minister Andrew Little released two reports today, Turuki! Turuki! from Te Uepū Hāpai I te Ora, and Te Tangi o te Manawanui: Recommendations for Reform from the Chief Victims Advisor. Both recommend a fresh approach to the way criminal justice has been approached... More>>


"Heart-Breaking And Confronting": Surgical Mesh Restorative Justice Report

Minister Genter: “People have talked about losing the life they had enjoyed before surgical mesh harmed them – the loss of a steady job, the ability to exercise, a loving relationship in some cases. Others described the chronic pain they experienced..." More>>


Law Foundation: Government Decryption Powers Must Respect Privacy

The power of government to order users and companies to decrypt encrypted data and devices needs stronger privacy protections and additional safeguards, according to a study published by researchers at the University of Waikato. More>>

Latest 'Discussion Doc': National On Healthcare

National has today released our eighth Discussion Document which focusses on health and outlines a range of policies which will enable more Kiwis to access high-quality healthcare, Leader of the Opposition Simon Bridges says. More>>


Select Committee Report: Combatting Foreign Election Interference

MPs have finally delivered their recommendations to combat foreign interference in elections in a long awaited and much delayed report. More>>

Mosque Attacks: Names Of Arresting Officers Released

Police are now in the position to name the two officers involved in the arrest of the alleged gunman responsible for the attacks on the Al Noor and Linwood Mosques on March 15. More>>

Big, Bold, Permanent Change Needed: Children's Commissioner On 2019 Child Poverty Monitor

“I want to see family incomes dramatically raised by increasing benefits and making the minimum wage a living wage. And the Government needs to move much faster at increasing the supply of social housing..." More>>






InfoPages News Channels