Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
License needed for work use Register

Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Final Election Results Announced For Waikato Regional Council

All votes have now been counted, with no changes to the make-up of the 14-member Waikato Regional Council announced on Election Day.

Elected members will take office tomorrow (Sunday, 16 October). However, an elected member cannot act until after they have been officially sworn in, which will take place during the triennial meeting of the new council starting at 11am on Thursday, 27 October.

A decision on who will be the chair and deputy chair will be made by councillors at that same meeting, being held in the council chambers in Hamilton. The meeting will be livestreamed:

A declaration of the official results has been published on the council’s website today:

Waikato Regional Council Chief Executive Chris McLay said the majority of councillors had already come together with the executive leadership team at an informal hui (meeting) at Maungatautari on Thursday.

“There are six incumbents who have returned, but with eight new regional councillors elected, it was a valuable opportunity to get to know one another and meet the executive team, as well as for councillors to share some of what they'd like to achieve over the next three years.

“It’s clear councillors have a shared desire and commitment to working as a team for the greater good of the Waikato region, and staff will support them in this,” Mr McLay said.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Waikato Regional Council councillors (final results)

Hamilton general constituency (4 vacancies)

Clarkson, Bruce 14,864 Elected 
Hughes, Chris 13,282 Elected 
Macdonald, Meshweyla 11,054   
Nickel, Jennifer 13,937 Elected 
Rimmington, Russ 12,716   
Strange, Angela 18,155 Elected 

Taupō-Rotorua general constituency (1 vacancy)

Downard, Mich’eal 6319 Elected 
Kidd, Peter 584   
Stevenson, Simone 4079   

Thames-Coromandel general constituency (1 vacancy)

Maher, Warren 6979 Elected 
Tegg, Denis 6542   

Waihou general constituency (2 vacancies)

Adams, Anaru 2585   
Cookson, Robert 6596 Elected 
Dunbar-Smith, Ben 7957 Elected 
Goodman, Anita 3532   
Katzur, Justus 1082   
Sherwood, Philip 5943   
Van der Aa, Chris 2303   
Waine, David 1480   

Waikato general constituency (2 vacancies)

Hayman, Jennifer 4272   
Lichtwark, Fred 5994   
Smith, Noel 7389 Elected 
Storey, Pamela 7315 Elected 

Waipā-King Country general constituency (2 vacancies)

Graf, Clyde 8467 Elected 
Kneebone, Stu 10,332 Elected 
Quayle, Barry 5905   
Sherriff, Judy 7438   

Ngā Tai Ki Uta Māori constituency (1 vacancy)

Hodge, Kataraina   Elected unopposed 

Ngā Hau E Whā Māori constituency (1 vacancy)

Mahuta, Tipa    Elected unopposed 

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The Skewed Media Coverage Of Gaza

Now that he’s back as Foreign Minister, maybe Winston Peters should start reading the MFAT website which is currently celebrating the 25th anniversary of how Kiwis alerted the rest of the world to the genocide in Rwanda. How times have changed ...

In 2023, the government is clutching its pearls because senior Labour MP Damien O’Connor has dared suggest that Gaza’s civilian population - already living under apartheid and subjected to sixteen years of an illegal embargo, and now being herded together and slaughtered indiscriminately amid the destruction of their homes, schools, mosques, and hospitals - are also victims of what amounts to genocide. More

ACT: Call To Abolish Human Rights Commission

“The Human Rights Commission’s appointment of a second Chief Executive is just the latest example of a taxpayer-funded bureaucracy serving itself at the expense of delivery for New Zealanders,” says ACT MP Todd Stephenson. More

Public Housing Futures: Christmas Comes Early For Landlords

New CTU analysis of the National & ACT coalition agreement has shown the cost of returning interest deductibility to landlords is an extra $900M on top of National’s original proposal. This is because it is going to be implemented earlier and faster, including retrospective rebates from April 2023. More




InfoPages News Channels


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.