Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Judges ready to be impressed at Bayer Awards

Judges ready to be impressed at Bayer Innovations Awards

Auckland, 6 May 2009 - Bayer, a global leader in innovation, is pleased to announce the judges for the upcoming Bayer Innovators Awards 2009.  Dr Darin Graham, Dr Steve Henry and Professor Jacqueline Rowarth will preside over the search for New Zealand’s top innovators.

The awards, which recognise top innovators in the fields of Science and Health; Design and Engineering; Agriculture and Environment; Research and Development; and Information Technology and Communications, are open for entries until 29 May 2009 -

Bayer Corporate Communications Manager William Malpass is aware that judging is crucial to ensure that New Zealand innovators are recognised in the upcoming Bayer Innovators Awards.

“Each year the Bayer Innovators Awards attract very strong entries.  That’s why we’re delighted to have such a high calibre of judges at the Bayer Innovators Awards 2009.  We want to ensure that recognition goes to the best of the best,” he said.

Mr. Malpass said this was the third year the awards had been held and each year they went from strength to strength.

Dr Darin Graham is the director of the National ICT Innovation Institute at Canterbury University, Dr Steve Henry holds a professorial chair in Biotechnology at AUT University and Professor Jacqueline Rowarth holds the Foundation Chair of Pastoral Agriculture at Massey University and is director of Massey Agriculture.

Bayer New Zealand would like to hear from individuals who are involved in a successful innovation or innovative project, or who are recognised by colleagues as an ideas person with innovative successes.

The top innovators from each of the categories and winners will be announced at a special cocktail event on 25 August 2009.

Entries for the awards are now open and can be made through the website Closing date for entries is 29 May 2009.

Previous winners include university researchers such as Dr Johan Verbeek (Waikato University) and Olaf Diegel (AUT), manufacturers such as Ross McKenzie from Old Fashioned Foods and designers such as Ray Avery from Medicine Mondiale.

For more information visit:




© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


TradeMe: Supply Sees Biggest Jump On Record While Prices Continue To Slump

The number of properties for sale across the country saw the biggest year-on-year jump ever in July, while prices continued to drop according to the latest Trade Me Property Price Index... More>>

Reserve Bank: Ongoing Monetary Tightening
The Monetary Policy Committee today increased the Official Cash Rate (OCR) to 3 percent from 2.5 percent. The Committee agreed it remains appropriate to continue to tighten monetary conditions... More>>

Statistics: Weekly Earnings Rise As More In Full-time Employment

Median weekly earnings from wages and salaries rose by 8.8 percent to $1,189 in the year to the June 2022 quarter, Stats NZ said today... More>>

Electricity Authority: Imposes Interim Restrictions On Very Large Electricity Contracts

Consumers of electricity will be protected from potentially paying more than they should due to the impact of very large electricity contracts on wholesale prices, under urgent changes announced today by the Electricity Authority... More>>

Westpac: Economic Overview, August 2022 – Pushing Through

The New Zealand economy faces some lean growth in the year ahead as households’ budgets are squeezed, according to Westpac’s latest Economic Overview... More>>

Kiwi Group Holdings: Fisher Funds Acquires Kiwi Wealth Business

Kiwi Group Holdings Limited (KGHL) today announced the sale of Kiwi Wealth to Fisher Funds for NZ$310 million... More>>