Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Critic Wins Big at Student Press Awards

Otago University student magazine Critic Te Arohi was the big winner at the 2018 Aotearoa Student Press Awards this weekend, picking up each awards and winning the overall award of Best Publication for the second year straight.

The awards were judged by some of New Zealand’s most prestigious journalists, including the Editors of Stuff, the NZ Herald, The Listener, and Vice New Zealand.

Critic was ranked first by all four of the judges for Best Publication. NZ Herald Premium Content Editor Miriyana Alexander called it “brave and provocative… pushing boundaries, taking risks and raisin merry hell.”
Stuff Editor Patrick Crewdson called it “exuberant, savvy, and self-deprecating in its acerbic bite… it’s a sign of a raucous, risk-taking spirit.”

News Editor Charlie O’Mannin won two awards, Best Reporter and Best Student Politics Reporter, for stories including an expose on a local landlord, a ‘sexist and bullying’ tradition at Selwyn College, and coverage of the Proctor bong protest.

Caroline Moratti also won two awards, sweeping both Best Feature Writer and Best Feature, standing out for her coverage of underpaid RAs at Otago University Residential Colleges. Editor of Vice NZ, James Borrowdale called her “a writer of great versatility and potential.”

Other Critic winners were Esme Hall for Best Opinion Writer, Joel MacManus for Best Editorial Writer, and Callum Doyle for Best Headline.

University of Wellington magazine Salient also had a strong night, placing second for Best Publication, and picking up five awards in total, including Best News Story for a piece about a residential hall serving undercooked chicken that received rave reviews from judges.

The full list of winners is below:

Best Humour
1. Liam Powell – Salient
2. Todd Murray – Massive
3. Jennifer Daruwalla - Debate

Best Headline
1. Critic
2. Craccum
3. Nexus

Best Editorial Writer
1. Joel MacManus – Critic
2. Louise Lin – Salient
3. Lyam - Nexus

Best Culture/Lifestyle Reporter
1. Shariff Burke – Salient
2. Jess Thompson – Critic
3. Grace Mitchell – Nexus

Best Opinion Writer
1. Esme Hall – Critic
2. Te Paea Hoori – Salient
3. Lachlan Mitchell – Craccum

Best Sports Reporter
1. Leilana Baker – Massive
2. Charlie Hantler _ Critic
3. Cameron McRobie – Nexus

Best Reviewer
1. Archie Porter – Nexus
2. Peri Miller – Massive
3. Mary Gwendolon - Craccum

Best Illustration
1. Debate
2. Salient
3. Massive

Best Student Politics Reporter
1. Charlie O’Mannin - Critic
2. Louise Lin – Salient
3. Debate

Best Columnist
1. Sasha Beattie – Salient
2. Henessey Griffiths – Critic
3. Kasharn Rao – Massive

Best Feature Writer
1. Caroline Moratti – Critic
2. Daniel Smith – Salient
3. Jennie-Louise Kendrick – Nexus

Best Feature Article
1. Critic
2. Debate
3. Craccum

Best News Reporter
1. Charlie O’Mannin – Critic
2. Equal = Ruby Ash – Salient/Angus Shaw – Salient
3. Bethany Reitsma – Massive

Best News Story
1. Angus Shaw – Salient
2. Sinead Gill – Critic
3. Massive staff reporters - Massive

Best Cover
1. Salient
2. Critic
3. Debate

Best Design
1. Debate
2. Salient
3. Craccum

Best Publication
1. Critic
2. Salient
3. Debate

© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Forest And Bird: Misinformation Circulating On Biodiversity Policy

Forest & Bird is concerned at misinformation circulating regarding a policy statement aimed at protecting New Zealand’s unique biodiversity. The National Policy Statement for Indigenous Biodiversity is being consulted on by the ... More>>


NIWA: Scientists Say Methane Emitted By Humans ‘vastly Underestimated’

NIWA researchers have helped unlock information trapped in ancient air samples from Greenland and Antarctica that shows the amount of methane humans are emitting into the atmosphere from fossil fuels has been vastly underestimated... More>>


SMC Expert Reaction: Record Dry Spells And Effects On Forests

With no rain forecast before Sunday, Auckland is about to break a record for the city's longest dry spell. Niwa says Auckland is likely to hit 40 consecutive days without rain this weekend . The upper North Island is seeing severe meterological ... More>>


Reserve Bank: Official Cash Rate Remains At 1.0 Percent

The Monetary Policy Committee has decided to keep the Official Cash Rate (OCR) at 1.0 percent. Employment is at or slightly above its maximum sustainable level while consumer price inflation is close to the 2 percent mid-point of our target range. ... More>>


Science Media Centre: Novel Coronavirus Detected In China – Expert Reaction

The virus was detected after more than 40 people were hospitalised with pneumonia in Wuhan City, China and the outbreak traced to a large animal and seafood market. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that person-to-person transmission ... More>>


NZ First: Launch Of Parliament Petition To Remove Aluminium Dross

This afternoon to a crowd of over 100 people in Mataura -- Mark Patterson, New Zealand First List MP based in Clutha-Southland launched a parliamentary petition regarding the aluminium dross issue in Mataura, Southland. The petition asks that the House ... More>>