Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


2019 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards – Finalists Announced

2019 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards – Finalists Announced

Auckland, 27 March 2019.

A record number of people gathered across Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington today to hear the finalists in the 2019 NZ Hi-Tech Awards announced.

Entries this year have come in from right across the country and this is reflected in the line-up of finalists this year, according to Jen Rutherford, Chair of the Hi-Tech Trust, who says the standard of entries is the highest ever seen in the history of the Awards.

“This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector and the country. For 2019 we have made been very conscious on building on the foundations of last year to ensure even greater diversity across our judging panels and amongst the entrants and finalists. it’s awesome to see so many areas of the country represented amongst the finalists with so many ethnic backgrounds and great female led companies coming through. Our industry is truly in great shape,” says Rutherford

Several of the local judges have commented that the quality of the entrants is at an all-time high this year as well as the volume of entries across many categories. They predict that the next phase of judging will prove even more challenging as they select the winners from such a strong pool of finalists.

The local judges are joined by a world class line up of international judges that include Bill Reichert, Pascal Finette, Rohit Shukla, Savannah Peterson, Claudia Batten, Dr Rosie Boswoth, Katherine Corich, Craig Fenton, Axel Boye-Moler, Kristy Traill, Emily Close, Pat Kenealy, Richard Keyse, Nick Lambert, Rosie Bosworth, Armand David, Jane Frankland and Andy Lark.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

“We are truly thankful to all our judges both here in New Zealand and around the world who give of their own time to assist us with judging. The Hi-Tech Awards continue to be the New Zealand technology industries most important celebration of success and a wonderful showcase for our innovation and talent. Following a sell-out crowd last year, we fully anticipate the same for the 2019 Gala Dinner, which will be held at the Spark Arena in Auckland on the 24th of May,” says Rutherford.

The 2019 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year
• Link Engine Management
• Movio
• Pushpay
• Serko
• Vend

Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year
• Auror
• FaceMe
• Fergus Software
• PredictHQ
• Redshield Security
• Robotics Plus
New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year
• Mint Innovation
• Sharesies
• Techtonus
• Whip Around

IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award
• Peter Beck
• David Hallett
• Craig Hudson
• Victoria MacLennan
• Simon Moutter
• Sam Payton

Callaghan Innovation Maori Hi-Tech Company of the Year
• Augmented Reality Applications
• Emergency Q (Healthcare Applications)
• Robotics Plus
• Takiwa

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Solution Award
• eStar
• Kiwi Wealth
• PredictHQ
• Redshield Security
• TradeMe
• Volpara Health Technologies

Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award
• Emergency Q by Healthcare Applications
• PredictHQ
• Serko
• Xero

Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award
• Aporo – Robotics Plus
• Bluelab
• Manta5
• Robotic Log Scaler – Robotics Plus
• Taska Prosthetics

Quick Circuit Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company
• Talent International
• Vodafone

NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector
• Agicom
• Aporo – Robotics Plus
• Bluelab
• Livestock Improvement Corporation
• Robotic Log Scaler – Robotics Plus

Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever
• Jamie Beaton
• Scott Herschberger
• Holly Norton
• Craig Piggott
• John Roy
• Daniel Thomson

ATEED Most Innovative Hi-Tech Creative Technology Solution
• Datacom
• Lazyworm Applications
• My Reflection
• Spalk

Visa Best HiTech Solution for the Public Good
• Collaborate
• The Cacophony Project
• The University of Waikato


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.