Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


LIANZA Children’s Book Awards 2003 shortlist

LIANZA Children’s Book Awards 2003 shortlist announced

LIANZA (Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa) celebrates Library Week August 11 – 17th with the release of the LIANZA Children’s Book Awards 2003 shortlist.

These awards are offered each year for distinguished contributions to New Zealand children’s literature. There are four award categories, Esther Glen Award - fiction, Russell Clark Award – illustration, Elsie Locke award – nonfiction, Te Kura Pounamu – Te Reo Mäori.

LIANZA ESTHER GLEN MEDAL Established in 1945 to commemorate New Zealand children’s author and editor Esther Glen.

Ken Catran Letters From the Coffin-Trenches. (Random House, ISBN 1869415094)

Sarah Ell When the War Came Home. (Scholastic New Zealand, ISBN 1869435281)

David Hill Right Where it Hurts. (Mallinson Rendel, ISBN 0908783701)

V M Jones Buddy. (HarperCollins, ISBN 1869504313)

Margaret Mahy Alchemy. (HarperCollins, ISBN 007131356) LIANZA RUSSELL CLARK MEDAL Established in 1975 in honour of the prominent New Zealand illustrator Russell Clark.

Pamela Allen The Potato People. (Viking, ISBN 0670896608

David Elliot Pigtails the Pirate. (Random House, ISBN 1869414691) Elizabeth Fuller The Best Dressed Bear, text by Diana Noonan. (Scholastic New Zealand, ISBN 186943501X)

Christine Ross Auntie Rosie and the Rabbit, text by Diana Noonan. (Scholastic New Zealand, ISBN 1869435397)

Sarah Wilkins The Immigrants, text by Alan Bagnall. (Mallinson Rendel, ISBN 0908783728)

LIANZA ELSIE LOCKE MEDAL (formerly LIANZA Young People’s Non-Fiction Award): Established in 1986 and renamed in 2001 to commemorate the work of Elsie Locke (1912- 2001) well-known children’s author and ardent advocate for children’s access to the history of Aotearoa New Zealand.

Alina Arkins The Kauri (Reed, ISBN 1869487737) & Len Doel

Ron Bacon Surf Lifesaving. (Waiatarua, ISBN 186963182X) & Anthony Heath.

Andrew Crowe Which New Zealand Insect? (Penguin Books, ISBN 0141006366)

Jenny Jones Lizards (Reed, ISBN 1869487141) & Rod Morris

Robert Sullivan Weaving Earth and Sky. Myths and Legends of Aotearoa. & Gavin Bishop (Random House, ISBN 1869415167)

LIANZA TE KURA POUNAMU AWARD Established in 1996 for the author of a book written for children or young people in Te Reo Mäori.

Ross Calman (trans) I Pëhea i Ngaro ai ngä Parirau o te Kiwi by Alywyn Owen. (Reed, ISBN 1869487168)

Sean Ellison Te Päkahiko o te Rau Tau. (Learning Media, ISBN 0478246135)

Ngäreta Gabel Tekiteora, Kei Hea ö Hü? (Huia, ISBN 1877283754) Te Haumihiata Mason Tiakiwai Taringa Hakeke. (Huia, ISBN 1877266949) & Trina Wirihana Käterina Te Heikökö Mataira (trans) Te Tarau Poto O Päpä Koroua by Joy Watson. (Scholastic New Zealand, ISBN 1869435540)

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the LIANZA Conference, Napier on Wednesday 8th October 2003.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Three Stocking Stuffers from Te Papa Press

Te Papa has published three wonderfully informative and beautifully produced volumes that describe the people and cultures encountered during Cook's voyages and the Māori cultural treasures he discovered there. More>>

40 Years On: Prime Minister Delivers Erebus Apology

"That loss, in and of itself, was huge. It sent ripples across the country, and trauma that those who weren’t directly affected would probably struggle to fathom. But that loss and grief was compounded. It was undeniably worsened by the events that followed." More>>


The Testaments: Margaret Atwood Announces Three NZ Events

The evening will also feature Atwood’s remarkable career, her diverse range of works and why she has returned to the fictional world of Gilead 34 years later. More>>

Transit Of Mercury: Historic Viewing Recreated

Keen stargazers gathered at Te Whanganui o Hei on the Coromandel Peninsula to watch a rare astronomic event this morning. More>>

Forest And Bird: Hoiho Crowned Bird Of The Year For 2019

Widely considered an underdog, the valiant hoiho (yellow-eyed penguin) has won Bird of the Year, a first for seabirds in the competition's 14-year history. More>>





  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland