Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


The People Have Chosen

[FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE] 20 February 2009

The People Have Chosen

ARTSPACE, The Physics Room and Enjoy Public Art Gallery and RVCA are pleased to announce the recipients of the People¹s Choice Award 2008/2009.

The award offered a chance for visitors to the Auckland and Christchurch exhibitions to have an active role in judging part of the competition by popular vote. This year two artists share the honour of the People¹s Choice Award; the exquisite drawings of Chloe Marsters and Casey Jane O¹Connell were chosen and as a result each will take home a $500 cash prize from RVCA, and $150 worth of credit with Gordon Harris. In addition the winning drawing will be published as a page work in Art News magazine.

With an open call for entries, the National Drawing Award creates an opportunity for a broad range of people to participate. Next stop for the National Drawing Award is Enjoy Gallery, Wellington!

Enjoy Public Art Gallery Exhibition dates: 21 February­14 March 2009 Opening Tonight: Friday 20 February 2009 RVCA is an international apparel brand that is engaged with music and art production at the core of its philosophy. ARTSPACE, The Physics Room and Enjoy Public Art Gallery receive major funding from Creative New Zealand


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: The French Dispatch - Wes Anderson's New Yorker Tribute

Very few contemporary American film directors can claim to have earned the title of auteur, but for sheer visual invention and cinematic joie de vivre, there is no more consistent director working in Hollywood today than Wes Anderson. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which won the Non Fiction Award at the Montana New Zealand Book Awards in 2009, and has now been republished by Te Papa press. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland