Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Winners announced for Show Me Shorts Film Festival

Media Release
Saturday 1 October, 2016
Winners announced for Show Me Shorts Film Festival 2016

Show Me Shorts Film Festival announced the winners in nine award categories at the Opening Night and Awards Ceremony that launched the festival at Auckland’s The Civic tonight.

The winners of the Lightbox Best Film Award, which is one of two Academy Awards®-qualifying categories at Show Me Shorts, were Georgiana Plaister and Ned Wenlock for their animated short film Spring Jam. The delightful film follows a young stag, lacking impressive antlers who must improvise with sweet music in order to have any chance during the mating season.

Wenlock had a successful night, also taking home the DEGNZ Best Director Award. The jury for the awards was made up of Antonia Prebble, Dylan Reeve and Steven O'Meagher who commented:Spring Jam makes you smile from the opening frame to the closing credits. It is a charming example of an original artistic vision that was executed with skill and precision.”

German writer/director/producer Tim Ellrich took home the Best International Film Award for his nostalgic comedy Die Badewanne (The Bathtub). This film has already won awards at festivals around the world, but Ellrich was elated about the win in New Zealand, saying: “We are very happy that Die Badewanne has won the Best International Film Award and is now eligible for the Oscars. An award like this from the other side of the world means a lot to us.”

The judges said: Die Badewanne is an excellent use of the short film form. The story is simple but rich in nuance and complex dynamics within the characters. The one-shot shooting style gives it an almost voyeuristic perspective, perfectly capturing a complex sibling dynamic in an honest and relatable way.”

The NZFC Special Jury Prize was awarded to writer/director Yamin Tun for Wait. The jury members commented on the stand-out quality of storytelling “that is touching and intimate, while at the same time broadly resonant emotionally." Wait was also recognized for the “perfectly pitched” performance by lead actress Katlyn Wong who received the StarNow Best Actor Award.

New Zealand musician-turned-director, Joe Lonie’s Shout at the Ground made its world premiere screening on the night, with his editor Bryan Shaw taking home the DEGNZ Best Editor Award. This raucous road-trip ‘vom-com’ was a hit with audience members.

Screenwriter Hugh Calveley won the Final Draft Best Screenplay Award for his sci-fi short, Cradle, about a 14-year-old girl returning to Earth on a spaceship. Simon Baumfield took out perhaps the most hotly contested category, Panavision Best Cinematographer, for the dark thriller Feeder. The jury commented on the high standard of cinematography overall across the nominated short films.

For the third year running, the NZ On Air Best Music Video Award went to directing duo THUNDERLIPS and the team at Candlelit Pictures. Their video for Sheep, Dog & Wolf, Breathe impressed the judges with visually arresting detail that complimented a great song.

Regarding their sponsorship of Show Me Shorts and the awards, Lightbox CEO Kym Niblock said, “We’re proud to support Show Me Shorts as it showcases the immense talent of New Zealand filmmakers. Congratulations to Georgiana Plaister and Ned Wenlock for taking out the Lightbox Best Film Award. Here’s hoping Spring Jam goes all the way to the Oscars!”

Show Me Shorts is now playing 42 short films and five music videos in cinemas across Aotearoa, from Dargaville to Stewart Island. Tickets are on sale from the cinema venues.

Audience members can vote for their favourite film to win the People’s Choice Award by completing the audience surveys at cinema venues or online

Full list of award winners:

NZ On Air Best Music Video: THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures, Breathe by Sheep, Dog & Wolf

Panavision Best Cinematographer Award: Simon Baumfield, Feeder

Starnow Best Actor Award: Katlyn Wong, Wait

Best International Film Award: Tim Ellrich, Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)

Final Draft Best Screenplay Award: Hugh Calveley, Cradle

NZFC Special Jury Prize: Yamin Tun, Wait

DEGNZ Best Editor Award: Bryan Shaw, Shout at the Ground

DEGNZ Best Director Award: Ned Wenlock, Spring Jam

Lightbox Best Film Award: Georgiana Plaister & Ned Wenlock, Spring Jam

The winner of the People’s Choice Award will be announced in January when audience votes are counted. Audience members can vote for this award category by completing the audience surveys at cinema venues or online at

- ENDS –

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's The Dry

After the terrible devastation caused by last year’s bushfires, which prompted hundreds of Australians to shelter in the ocean to escape incineration and destroyed uncountable amounts of wildlife, The Dry has been released during a totally different kind of dry spell. More>>

Howard Davis: Benjamin Ree's The Painter and The Thief

The Norwegian filmmaker had long been fascinated by art thieves who commit high-stakes crimes with a delicate touch when a chance Google search in 2015 uncovered a botched heist in Oslo. More>>

Howard Davis: Anna Coddington Beams

Anna Coddington's thin, wispy vocals fit her songs beautifully, providing a wonderful lilting quality that pervades her latest album, producing instant ear worms. More>>

Howard Davis: Hit the Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's Nomadland

Nomadland is perhaps the ultimately 'road' movie as it follows a group of dispossessed and disenfranchised vagabonds who find a form of communal refuge in camp sites and trailer parks after the economic contraction of 2008. More>>

Howard Davis: Byrneing Down the House - Spike Lee's American Utopia

Lee does an admirable job capturing Byrne's stunning live performance of his latest album, but the real star of the show is the staging. More>>

Howard Davis: The Phoenix Foundation Friend Ship Tour Docks in Wellington

A sense of local pride was certainly running high at the Opera House on Saturday night, as the lads ran through a tasty little set drawn mostly from their latest album Friend Ship (splash out for Xmas on the shocking pink extra-thick vinyl edition). More>>

Howard Davis: Avantdale Bowling Club

Auckland rapper and MC Tom Scott brought his stunning jazz-infused Taite Music Prize-winning project Avantdale Bowling Club to the Opera House headlining Wellington's 2020 Jazz Festival. More>>

Howard Davis: Troy Kingi Rules The San Fran

The award-winning Northland musician performed songs from his new record The Ghost of Freddie Cesar, the fourth installment in his 10/10/10 series - ten albums in ten years in ten genres. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland