Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Work smarter with a Pro licence Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Netball NZ 2017 Volunteer of the Year Awards Announced

Netball New Zealand 2017 Volunteer of the Year Awards Announced

Four volunteers have been recognised for their commitment and service they give to their netball Centres in the Netball New Zealand Volunteer of the Year Awards.

The annual Awards – which celebrate excellence at grassroots netball – attracted a high standard of nominations from around the country in categories including coach, official, administrator and youth.

South Zone’s Trudy Cochrane was named Coach of the Year for the work she does with both the South Otago and Dunedin Netball Centres

Cochrane splits her coaching duties between Balclutha and Dunedin, guiding three teams, as well as the South Otago Under-15 representative team. This season she has coached three teams ranging in age from 14 years old to 21 years old.

She has dedicated most of the last 15 years to coaching netball, starting with primary school teams, to high school and now university teams – all while juggling the demands of bringing up a family of four children, being part of the University Albion Netball Committee (for the past three years) and playing in a local team.

The Dunedin Centre, from the South Zone, is also home to the Official of the Year with Kathi Scott recognised for the work she does with the Centre’s umpires.

Scott’s positive attitude is a key attribute and her contribution to developing Centre umpires is invaluable. She also umpires two games a week and holds her Zone theory badge.

As well as regularly organising a coaching panel every Saturday, who watch the umpires officiating that day, Scott also sources over 100 umpires every Wednesday and Thursday night to cover the growing Edgar Centre Social Netball competition.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Nearly two decades of service to club netball in Christchurch has seen Cashmere Netball Club member Wayne Hawker awarded Administrator of the Year.

For 19 years Hawker from Mainland Zone has held a number of positions at the club including President (12 years), secretary, treasurer, club umpire co-ordinator and chief fundraiser. He has also served time on the Christchurch Netball Centre’s executive and competition committees.

But it is his involvement at grassroots level with Cashmere which stands out as he played a major role in helping to revive the club during tough times.

His influence, commitment and family focus has seen a number of fathers take up coaching roles at the club while he has inspired others to get involved at administration level.

Hawker has himself been involved as coach and for the past 14 years has been a volunteer co-ordinator for the Christchurch Centre’s Nettabury programme.

Meanwhile, the Youth of the Year was awarded to Papakura Centre (Northern Zone) volunteer Monique Cox-Timmer.

Described as a youngster who shows qualities in character which far exceed her years, Cox-Timmer assists the Centre in delivering the ANZ FutureFERNS programme. She is also accredited to deliver Star Helpers workshops for aspiring coaches of the programme.

Cox-Timmer’s commitment to the Papakura Centre is highlighted every Saturday when she is first to arrive at the courts and due to her other roles, as both umpire and player, is often one of the last to leave.

Netball New Zealand currently has 12,000 coaches, 2500 accredited umpires and Netball is supported by thousands of administrators throughout the country.

The winners of the Volunteer Awards will be honoured at the Constellation Cup Test Match at the Horncastle Arena in Christchurch on October 8.

Coach: Trudy Cochrane, South Otago and Dunedin Netball Centres, South Zone

Official: Kathi Scott, Dunedin Netball Centre, South Zone

Administrator: Wayne Hawker, Christchurch Netball Centre, Mainland Zone

Youth: Monique Cox-Timmer, Papakura Centre, Northern Zone


© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.