Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Whangarei locals urged to cast their vote

13August 2018

Whangarei locals urged to cast their vote for New Zealander of the Year

The 2019 New Zealander of the Year should be from Whangarei, says Mayor Sheryl Mai.

Nominations for the prestigious award, and supporting categories, opened last month and close on September 17.

Mayor Mai urged locals to think hard about fellow residents deserving of recognition and then to nominate them for the 2019 awards.

“Each and every one of us knows someone in our community who is doing something special to make Whangarei a better place to live for all of us.

“But sometimes, given our busy lives, we forget to pause to acknowledge and celebrate the efforts and accomplishments of the people around us.

“So let’s take the time to think about local people who, through their selflessness, generosity and vision, have made our district a better place and touched the lives of all of us.

“The New Zealander of the Year award is the perfect way for us to say thanks and I encourage all Whangarei residents to take a moment and nominate that special person who represents the very best of us.”

The annual New Zealander of the Year Awards are now in their 10th year. They recognise a diverse range of Kiwis from all fields of endeavour including science, business, the arts, cultural or community involvement, sport, education and health. They are open to New Zealanders of all ages whose impact has inspired the communities they serve and the country as a whole.

Any member of the public can nominate an individual or community organisation in the Awards programme.

In addition to the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year, awards will also be presented to New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five additional award categories.

• University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year
• Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year
• Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year
• Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year
• Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

The 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala in Auckland on February 21, 2019.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Kristine Bartlett (2018) Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

For more information or to nominate someone for the 2019 New Zealander of the Year Awards visit

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Writing: Eastbourne Writers To Discuss Trials And Tribulations Of Getting Books Out During A Pandemic

The three writers and their books. From left: John Horrocks, Anne Manchester and Pete Carter. The three writers - Pete Carter, John Horrocks and Anne Manchester - have written three very different books, one fiction, two non-fiction, but all three ... More>>

Film: Trailer Released For New Heartfelt Comedy ‘Baby Done’ Starring Rose Matafeo And Matthew Lewis

The trailer for local comedy film Baby Done has today been unveiled ahead of its nationwide general release in October. From the production house behind Kiwi box office hits The Breaker Upperers and Hunt for the Wilderpeople , Baby Done stars ... More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland