Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


2019 New Zealander of the Year Awards Update

2nd October 2018

The awards office is pleased to provide the following update for the 2019 New Zealander of the Year Awards. Public nominations for all categories have now closed.

A total of 488 nominations have been received for the 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year award, after closing at midnight on 18th September.

New Zealander of the Year Awards manager, Glyn Taylor said he has been overwhelmed by the amount of exceptional nominations the awards have received this year.

“This year’s nominations for the 2019 New Zealander of the Year, and supporting categories, is testament to Kiwi’s very fine tradition of acknowledging excellence and the good deeds of others and to paraphrase 2011 New Zealander of the Year Sir Paul Callaghan, New Zealand is certainly a place where talent wants to live.”

“Some have worked tirelessly for their local communities. Others have stamped their mark at a national or even international level. They’ve spoken for those who can’t and they’ve changed the way we think about ourselves and the world. All have made our country a better place to live.”

Examples of New Zealanders nominated for 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year for their contribution to social good include:
Scott Dixon (Auckland) – professional race car driver.
Annah Stretton (Hamilton) – philanthropist, entrepreneur and fashion designer.
Mike King (Auckland) – mental health advocate.
Marewa Glover (Auckland) – public health academic specialising in smoking cessation.
Sir Peter Gluckman (Auckland) – former science advisor to the Prime Minister.
Craig Heatley (Auckland) – businessman, entrepreneur and philanthropist.
Moana Jackson (Wellington) – Treaty of Waitangi and constitutional issues lawyer.
Alan Halse (Hamilton) – director of Culturesafe NZ.
Lesley Elliott (Canterbury) – founder of the Sophie Elliott Foundation.
Dr Sharad P Paul (Auckland) – skin cancer expert and social entrepreneur.
Minnie Baragwanath (Auckland) – founder and CEO of Be. Accessible.
Major Campbell Roberts (Auckland) – founder and Director of the Salvation Army’s Social Policy and Parliamentary Affairs Unit.
Graham Lowe (Northland) – former NZ rugby league coach, founder of the Lowie Foundation
Dame Dr Iritana Tawhiwhirangi (Wellington) – Maori educator and leader of Kohanga Reo movement

In the coming months, a judging panel – comprising representatives of awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will evaluate the nominations. The shortlist of 10 candidates to be considered for the New Zealander of the Year Award will be announced in December.

Other Categories

A shortlist of 10 candidates will also be evaluated by a judging panel and announced in December for the following categories:

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year (15-30 years).
Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year (67 years and over).
Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year.
Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year.
Mitre10 New Zealand Community of the Year.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Writing: Eastbourne Writers To Discuss Trials And Tribulations Of Getting Books Out During A Pandemic

The three writers and their books. From left: John Horrocks, Anne Manchester and Pete Carter. The three writers - Pete Carter, John Horrocks and Anne Manchester - have written three very different books, one fiction, two non-fiction, but all three ... More>>

Film: Trailer Released For New Heartfelt Comedy ‘Baby Done’ Starring Rose Matafeo And Matthew Lewis

The trailer for local comedy film Baby Done has today been unveiled ahead of its nationwide general release in October. From the production house behind Kiwi box office hits The Breaker Upperers and Hunt for the Wilderpeople , Baby Done stars ... More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland