Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Favourite wins at Manfeild – shearing

Favourite wins at Manfeild – shearing

If Manfeild was still in its former guise as a track for horse racing it would have had shearer David Buick as one of its warmer favourites as he shore yesterday at the Manawatu and West Coast A and P Show.

And he wouldn’t have let the punters down, the form horse, New Zealand representative and Pongaroa shearer and farmer winning the show’s Open shearing title for a sixth time, along with it being his third win in four North Island competitions in the new season.

It was his 18th Open-class win, dating back to his first, also at the Manawatu show in 2011, making him comparatively-speaking the Winx of the field, with runner-up Murray Henderson, of Halcombe, and non-finalist Bart Hadfield, of Ruakituri, the only others in the day’s field to have ever won an Open final, and then only three between them.

In a six-man final – three stands at a time – Buick was in complete charge, fleecing the 15 sheep in the quickest time (14min 40sec) and posting the best board and pen points, to won by 2.4163pts from Henderson, the competition organiser and venue commentator for most of the day. Feilding shearer Aaron Haynes just was 0.0334pts further away in third place.

Among the finalists was young Woodville shearer Tegwyn Bradley, in his first final in the top grade after being the country’s top-ranked Senior last season, when his 14 wins included a Golden Shears title.

Napier shearer Ricci Stevens won the Senior final, guaranteeing his promotion to Open-class next season, South Island visitor Chris Dickson, of Eketahuna won the Intermediate final, and Atawhai Hadfield, of Raukituri in Northeren Hawke’s Bay, scored his third Junior win of the season.

Sheree Alabaster, of Taihape, further enhanced her claims to a spot at a World Championships for a third time when she made it two-in-a-row in Open woolhandling finals in the early stages of a new New Zealand team selection series. Lucky Garrett, of Eketahuna, did likewise in the Senior grade, again beatinmg top 2017-2018 Junior Tyler Hira, of Onewhero, and Cortez Ostler, of Dannevirke, scored his second Junior win of the season.

RESULTS of the Manawatu and West Coast A and P Show shearing and woolhandling championships at Feilding on November 3, 2018:


Open final (15 sheep): David Buick (Pongaroa) 14min 40sec, 50.8667pts, 1; Murray Henderson (Halcombe) 14min 55sec, 53.2833pts, 2; Aaron Haynes (Feilding) 14min 57sec, 53.3167pts, 3; Michael Fabish (Stratford) 15min 12sec, 56.0667pts 4; Axle Reid (Taihape) 15min 5sec, 56.65pts, 5; Tegwyn Bradley (Woodville) 15min 17sec, 66.05pts, 6.

Senior final (10 sheep): Ricci Stevens (Napier) 11min 22sec, 43pts, 1; Lionel Taumata (Taumarunui/Gore) 11min 54sec, 47pts, 2; Daniel Seed (Woodville) 13min 10sec, 48pts, 3.

Intermediate final (6 sheep): Chris Dickson (Gore) 11min 43sec, 47.15pts, 1;Tawera Brown (Martinborough) 10min 46sec, 47.4667pts, 2; Paora Moanaroa (Eketahuna) 12min 20sec, 48.8333pts, 3; Kyle Mita (Masterton) 12min 26sec, 50.9667pts, 4; Reuben Alabaster (Taihape) 11min 48sec, 51.4pts, 5; Jonathan Painter (Pahiatua) 13min 42sec, 52.6pts, 6.

Junior final (4 sheep): Atawhai Hadfield (Ruakituri) 10min 48sec, 44.4pts, 1; Adam Thompson (Feilding) 10min 18sec, 56.15pts, 2; Samantha Baxter (Pongaroa) 13min 11sec, 81.55pts, 3.

Novice (1 sheep): Adam Gordon (Masterton) 5min 40sec, 32pts, 1; Summer Pritchard (Pongaroa) 6min 11sec, 45.55pts, 2; Jerome Papworth (Alfredton) 6min 26sec, 46.3pts, 3; Christine Howden (Feilding) 4min 28sec, 47.4pts, 4.


Open final: Sheree Alabaster (Taihape) 142.906pts, 1; Keryn Herbert (Te Kuiti) 149.97pts, 2; Eramiha Neho (Dannevirke) 214.43pts, 3; Trish Moke-Ludlow (Waipawa) 252.73pts, 4; Ngaio Hansen (Eketahuna) 255.62pts, 5; Carmen Smith (Pongaroa) 274pts, 6.

Senior final: Lucky Garrett (Eketahuna) 94.356pts, 1; Tyler Hira (Onewhero) 107.43pts, 2; Darryl Harrison (Dannevirke) 109.812pts, 3; Ngaira Puha (Kimbolton) 121.434pts, 4; Ricci Stevens (Napier) 142.83pts, 5; Summer Pritchard (Pongaroa) 154.486pts, 6.

Junior final: Cortez Ostler (Dannevirke) 111.438pts, 1; Cheyenne Howden (Feilding) 115.194pts, 2; Kimi Joseph (Masterton) 156.032pts, 3.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: The Back of the Painting

Painting conservators are the forensic pathologists of the art world. While they cannot bring their subjects back to life, they do provide fascinating insights into the precise circumstances of a painting's creation, its material authenticity, and constructive methodology. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which won the Non Fiction Award at the Montana New Zealand Book Awards in 2009, and has now been republished by Te Papa press. More>>

Howard Davis: Black Panthers on the Prowl

A passionate and gripping political drama from Shaka King, this is an informative and instructive tale of human frailty that centers around the charismatic Chicago Black Panther leader Fred Hampton, who was murdered at the age of twenty-one during a police raid. More>>

Howard Davis: Controlling the High Ground

Stephen Johnson's raw and angry film not only poses important questions with scrupulous authenticity, but also provides a timely reminder of the genocidal consequences of casual bigotry and xenophobia. More>>

Howard Davis: Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's The Dry

After the terrible devastation caused by last year’s bushfires, which prompted hundreds of Australians to shelter in the ocean to escape incineration and destroyed uncountable amounts of wildlife, The Dry has been released during a totally different kind of dry spell. More>>

Howard Davis: Hit the Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's Nomadland

Nomadland is perhaps the ultimately 'road' movie as it follows a group of dispossessed and disenfranchised vagabonds who find a form of communal refuge in camp sites and trailer parks after the economic contraction of 2008. More>>

Howard Davis: Byrneing Down the House - Spike Lee's American Utopia

Lee does an admirable job capturing Byrne's stunning live performance of his latest album, but the real star of the show is the staging. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland