Scoop has an Ethical Paywall
Licence needed for work use Learn More

Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Five Tui awarded at 2018 Artisan Awards

Five Tui awarded at 2018 Artisan Awards

New Zealand’s top behind-the-scenes talent celebrated

The backbone of Aotearoa’s music industry was recognised tonight at the third annual Artisan Awards at Massey University’s School of Music and Creative Media Production in Wellington.

Distinguished winners across five awards were celebrated as the Tui for Massey University Best Producer, Best Engineer, Best Album Cover, NZ On Air Best Music Video and Music Teacher of the Year were awarded.

Simon Gooding and Jordan Stone received the Tui for Best Engineer for their work on Neil Finn’s fourth solo album Out of Silence.

Recorded at the famous Roundhead Studios in Auckland, the recording process was livestreamed on Neil’s Facebook page – giving fans unique insight into the process of creating an album and breaking down the barriers between creator and consumer.

It’s been a phenomenal year for Simon Gooding, who also received a Tui for Massey University Best Producer alongside Tom Larkin and Hammerhead for their work on Te Reo metallers Alien Weaponry’s debut album .

Released in June, recieved over one million streams in the first week of release and recieved critical acclaim both in Aotearoa and abroad – with many praising the album’s energy and conscious lyrics.

The Tui for NZ On Air Best Music Video was presented to Marlon Williams for the video he created for his 2017 single ‘Vampire Again’.

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading

Are you getting our free newsletter?

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.

Four-time Tui winner, Marlon is nominated for another three Tui at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards next week – Album of the Year for his 2018 releaseMake Way For Love, Best Solo Artist and Best Alternative Artist.

Jaime Robertson and Matthias Heiderich both received the Tui for Best Album Cover, recognising their work on Sola Rosa’s 2018 In Spaces EP.

The EP continued to push Sola Rosa’s sound in new directions and the artwork provided by Jaime and Matthias matched the sound perfectly.

In conjunction with the NZ Music Commission, a new Tui was introduced this year. The inaugural Music Teacher of the Year was awarded to Elizabeth Sneyd, who founded the Virtuoso Strings Charitable Trust in 2013 and has provided free music programmes to over 200 young people in the East Porirua community ever since.

The specialist judging panel said: “It was a great privilege to be given the chance to look into the working-world of these three incredibly talented and hard-working music teachers. We were all blown away by the level of commitment, their energy, and the impact of their work. The opportunities provided for students and the great respect shown to them was humbling. While all three teachers worked in quite different contexts their belief in music as a positive change-agent in young peoples’ lives was the common factor driving them all.

“It was an extremely hard job to pick a winner as all three finalists are clearly already winners in their communities. What was significant about the Elizabeth Sneyd was the evolution of the programme ‘from scratch’, her commitment to ensuring the programme will last well beyond her involvement, and her well-articulated vision for music to enable a more socially just and inclusive Aotearoa.”

Elizabeth believes music education can transform lives and provides a tight-knit group for students to support each other, with all Virtuoso Strings music programmes provided for free to remove barriers and provides meaningful opportunities for both experienced and beginner students

Recorded Music New Zealand CEO Damian Vaughan said it was a privilege to honour those in New Zealand’s music community who put in so much work behind the scenes.

“We love celebrating the work and achievement of these incredibly important heroes of our music industry at the Artisan Awards.

“Their expertise and involvement in the creative and recording process of Kiwi musicians is invaluable and essential to crafting the New Zealand sound we all love – as well as fostering the next generation of Kiwi artists.”

Andre Ktori, Head of Massey’s School of Music and Creative Media Production said: “As a University we value the role great music teachers have in the careers of talented young people. The inaugural award recognising Music Teachers is fantastic!

“It’s an incredible honour to acknowledge the talented artisans in the music industry tonight, we’re so proud to support these awards.”

The Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards will be broadcast live on Three on 15 November from 8.30pm. Recorded Music NZ are pleased to announce that Jaguar is the official car partner of the VNZMAs this year and welcome Hallenstein Brothers as sponsors of the red carpet this year, making it the Hallenstein Brothers Red Carpet. They join Vodafone, NZ On Air, Massey University, Te Mangai Paho, Kim Crawford, Three and The Edge as sponsors of the event.

Whether you’re on the red carpet or your couch at home, you’ll be able to watch some of New Zealand’s finest musical talent at the Music Awards.

Artisan Award Winners:

Best Album Cover:
Winners: Jaime Robertson & Matthias Heiderich - In Spaces EP (Sola Rosa)
• Barny Bewick - Seven (Cairo Knife Fight)
• Tami Neilson, Ashley Church, Xoe Hall, Jules Koblun - Sassafrass! (Tami Neilson)

Best Engineer:
Winners: Jordan Stone & Simon Gooding - Out Of Silence (Neil Finn)
• Chris Chetland - Rangatira (REI)
• Simon Gooding, Tom Larkin, Scott Seabright, and Samuel Sproull - (Alien Weaponry)

NZ On Air Best Music Video:
Winner: Marlon Williams – ‘Vampire Again’ (Marlon Williams)
• Chris Graham – ‘Black Crow’ (Louis Baker)
• Shae Sterling – ‘Bloodlines’ (The Adults ft Estère & JessB)

Best Producer:
Winners: Simon Gooding, Tom Larkin, Hammerhead - (Alien Weaponry)
• Estère - My Design, On Others' Lives (Estère)
• Neil and Liam Finn - Out Of Silence (Neil Finn)

Music Teacher of the Year:
Winner: Elizabeth Sneyd – Virtuoso Strings Charitable Trust, Porirua
• Jane Egan – Gisborne Girls High School, Gisborne
• Judith Bell – Chisnallwood Intermediate, Christchurch

© Scoop Media

Advertisement - scroll to continue reading
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland

Join Our Free Newsletter

Subscribe to Scoop’s 'The Catch Up' our free weekly newsletter sent to your inbox every Monday with stories from across our network.