Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


NZRL Awards finalists named

NZ Kiwis skipper Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Kiwi #794) is up against NRL Premiership winning forward, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Kiwi #755) and Kiwi #771 Kevin Proctor for the 2018 Kiwis Player of the Year Award.

Finalists have been selected in all 13 NZRL Awards categories, including Kiwi Ferns Player of the Year which will be hotly contested by Kiwi Ferns co-captain Honey Hireme, NRL Grand-Final Player of the Match Kimiora Nati and powerhouse prop Aieshaleigh Smalley.

Kiwis debutants Joseph Manu, Ken Maumalo and Dally M Rookie of the Year, Jamayne Isaako will face-off for the Kiwis Rookie of the Year award – all three having had outstanding seasons with their respective clubs and thriving in their Kiwis career debut seasons.

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck took home the top Kiwis award last year but the 2018 Dally M Award winner was out of contention for this year’s Kiwis end of season campaign in New Zealand and England due to injury.

Last year’s Junior Player of the Year, Isaiah Papali’i won the award as a 19-year-old and is still eligible this year following a stellar season with the Warriors and as captain of the Junior Kiwis. He faces challenges from the South Sydney Rabbitohs and Taranaki-born Mawene Hiroti, as well as Warriors youngster Joseph Vuna.

The Pirtek Volunteer of the Year awards also shine light on the incredible efforts of grassroots volunteers from around the country. These finalists have contributed to their clubs and communities in ways that are invaluable to the game of rugby league in New Zealand.

Award winners will be announced on 12 December.

Below is the full list of NZRL Awards finalists:

Kiwis Player of the Year 2018
• Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers)
• Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast Titans)
• Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters)

Kiwi Ferns Player of the Year 2018
• Honey Hireme (St George Illawarra Dragons)
• Kimiora Nati (Brisbane Broncos)
• Aieshaleigh Smalley (NZ Warriors)
Kiwis Rookie of the Year 2018
• Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters)
• Ken Maumalo (NZ Warriors)
• Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
Kiwi Ferns Rookie of the Year 2018
• Onjeurlina Leiataua (NZ Warriors)
• Masuisuimatamaalii Tauasa-Pauaraisa (NZ Warriors)
Junior Player of the Year 2018
• Mawene Hiroti (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
• Joseph Vuna (NZ Warriors)
• Isaiah Papali’I (NZ Warriors)
Pirtek Female Volunteer of the Year 2018

Debbie Neylon-Kennedy (Southern, Canterbury)
Michelle Harding (Southern, Canterbury)
Hana Kakoi (Southern, Canterbury)
Denise Proctor (Northland, Nga Tama Toa)
Junie Shelford (Northland, Takahiwai)
Sariah Matautia (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Agnes Koti (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Karen Gibbons (Akarana, Auckland)
Rose Nahu (Upper Central, Bay of Plenty)
Ally Tamihere (Mid Central, Gisborne Tairawhiti)

Pirtek Male Volunteer of the Year 2018

David Field (Southern, Canterbury)
Tony Grenfell (Southern, Canterbury)
Chris Perriam (Southern, Southland)
Peter Kerridge (Southern, West Coast)
Josh Cleaver (Mid Central, Taranaki)
Lawrence Erihe (Mid Central, Manawatu)
Frank Proctor (Northland, Nga Tama Toa)
Nick Waihi (Northland, Marist Brothers)
Tim Tapaki (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Carl Gribble (Akarana, Auckland)

Grassroots Club of the Year 2018

Wairau Taniwha (Southern, Tasman)
Lonestar Cowboys (Southern, Southland)
South Pacific Raiders (Southern, Otago)
Rolleston Warriors (Southern, Canterbury)
Takahiwai Warriors (Northland)
Otahuhu Rugby League Club (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Manurewa Rugby League Football & Sports Club Inc (Counties Manukau, Auckland)

Domestic Coach of the Year 2018

Rusty Matua (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Tusa Lafaele (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Keith Hanley (Akarana, Auckland)

Match Official of the Year 2018

Gary Smallridge (Southern, Canterbury)
Owen Harvey (Southern, Canterbury)
Chris MacMillan (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Paki Parkinson (Upper Central, Bay of Plenty)

NZ 16s Player of the Year 2018

Sione Moala (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Quinnlan Tupou (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
Lani Graham-Taufa (Akarana, Auckland)

NZ 18s Player of the Year 2018

Kayal Iro (NZ Warriors)
Tyler Slade (NZ Warriors)
Mahuta Ngataki-Matthews (Upper Central, Waikato)

NZRL Premier Player of the Year 2018

Drew Radich (Counties Manukau, Auckland)
James Baxendale (Southern, Canterbury)
Francis Leger (Akarana, Auckland)


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Controlling the High Ground

Stephen Johnson's raw and angry film not only poses important questions with scrupulous authenticity, but also provides a timely reminder of the genocidal consequences of casual bigotry and xenophobia. More>>

Howard Davis: Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's The Dry

After the terrible devastation caused by last year’s bushfires, which prompted hundreds of Australians to shelter in the ocean to escape incineration and destroyed uncountable amounts of wildlife, The Dry has been released during a totally different kind of dry spell. More>>

Howard Davis: Benjamin Ree's The Painter and The Thief

The Norwegian filmmaker had long been fascinated by art thieves who commit high-stakes crimes with a delicate touch when a chance Google search in 2015 uncovered a botched heist in Oslo. More>>

Howard Davis: Hit the Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's Nomadland

Nomadland is perhaps the ultimately 'road' movie as it follows a group of dispossessed and disenfranchised vagabonds who find a form of communal refuge in camp sites and trailer parks after the economic contraction of 2008. More>>

Howard Davis: Byrneing Down the House - Spike Lee's American Utopia

Lee does an admirable job capturing Byrne's stunning live performance of his latest album, but the real star of the show is the staging. More>>

Howard Davis: The Phoenix Foundation Friend Ship Tour Docks in Wellington

A sense of local pride was certainly running high at the Opera House on Saturday night, as the lads ran through a tasty little set drawn mostly from their latest album Friend Ship (splash out for Xmas on the shocking pink extra-thick vinyl edition). More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland