Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Seventy Schools Now Part of Principals NCEA Coalition





Fifteen more schools have signed up to the Principals NCEA Coalition, of now 75 members, its spokesperson, Glen Denham, Principal of West Auckland’s Massey High School, said today.

They join the 34 schools from the Greater Auckland region that launched the coalition in full-page newspaper advertisements challenging the government’s NCEA review process on Sunday, and the 21 from all around the country who signed up immediately after, bringing the total to 70. Other schools plan to make a decision in the next few days.

Mr Denham said the 70 schools represented a wide spectrum of New Zealand socio-economically and geographically, and also in terms of educational philosophy. The coalition would continue its campaign to alert parents to the dangers to their children’s education under the current review process.

“What unites our 70 schools is our shared commitment to New Zealand’s young people, and our professional judgment that the government’s irregular NCEA review process will jeopardise their futures,” he said.

Mr Denham said the coalition had made some progress over the past couple of days with some dialogue occurring behind the scenes with the Government.

“We are hopeful of some positive developments early next week. Until then, we will not be publicly commenting further.”

The 15 new coalition members in geographical order are:

1. Kingsway School, Hibiscus Coast

2. Saint Kentigern College, Auckland

3. Tauranga Boys’ College

4. Hamilton Girls’ High School

5. Hamilton Boys’ High School

6. Gisborne Boys’ High School

7. Hastings Boys’ High School

8. Sacred Heart College, Napier

9. Hutt International Boys’ School, Wellington

10. Rongotai College, Wellington

11. St Catherine’s College, Wellington

12. St Patrick’s College Silverstream, Wellington

13. St Margaret’s College, Christchurch

14. St Andrew’s College, Christchurch

15. Northern Southland College, Lumsden

The existing 55 coalition members were:

1. Auckland Grammar School

2. Avondale College

3. Baradene College

4. Birkenhead College

5. De la Salle College

6. Dilworth School

7. Diocesan School for Girls

8. Glenfield College

9. Henderson High School

10. James Cook High School

11. Kaipara College

12. Kelston Boys’ High School

13. King’s College

14. Liston College

15. Long Bay College

16. Macleans College

17. Massey High School

18. Mt Albert Grammar School

19. One Tree Hill College

20. Pinehurst School

21. Rangitoto College

22. Rosmini College

23. Rutherford College

24. Sacred Heart College

25. Southern Cross Campus

26. St Cuthbert’s College

27. St Paul’s College

28. St Peter’s College

29. Takapuna Grammar School

30. Vanguard Military School

31. Waitakere College

32. Wesley College

33. Westlake Boys’ High School

34. Westlake Girls’ High School

35. Northland College, Kaikohe

36. Whangarei Boys' High School

37. Middle School West Auckland

38. Mt Hobson Middle School

39. Auckland South Auckland Middle School

40. St Peter's School, Cambridge

41. Rotorua Boys' High School

42. St John's College, Hastings

43. Palmerston North Boys' High School

44. Queen Elizabeth College, Palmerston North

45. Christ's College, Christchurch

46. Timaru Boys' High School

47. St Kevin's College, Oamaru

48. John McGlashan College, Dunedin

49. Kavanagh College, Dunedin

50. King's High School, Dunedin

51. Otago Boys' High School, Dunedin

52. Queen's High School, Dunedin

53. Taieri College, Mosgiel

54. Menzies College, Wyndham

55. James Hargest College, Invercargill

In addition, two more prominent former Principals are lending their expertise to the coalition, including, Gillian Eadie of Samuel Marsden Collegiate, Steve Cole of St Paul’s Collegiate, St Bede’s Senior School (Sussex) and St Kentigern College; in addition to John Morris of Takapuna Grammar and Auckland Grammar schools; and John Taylor of King’s College and now Director of External Relations and Development at the University of Auckland; and Byron Bentley of Macleans College.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


NZ Festival : The NZSO Goes To The Disco and more...

In the endless, anguished debates about how to make classical music more relevant to new audiences, proposals are often put forward to strip away certain elements – reduce the formality ... More>>


Howard Davis: Charlotte Yates' Mansfield Project

Katherine Mansfield's vapid verses are of even less interest than her over-rated short stories, but Yates has risen to the challenge of producing a fascinating compilation album by a variety of musicians to accompany her poetry. More>>

Howard Davis: Dazed & Confused by Beats

Beats is both a coming-of-age tale and a romantic movie about endings, set to a nostalgic backdrop of the disappearing tail of the UK's illegal rave scene. More>>

Howard Davis: And The Oscar Goes To … Parasite
For its deliciously dark wit and genre-bending ingenuity, Bong Joon-ho's latest movie has just won four out of a potential six Academy Awards, including Best Screenplay and Director. Only ten foreign-language films have previously been nominated for Best Picture and none have won before. More>>

Howard Davis: 1917's 1,000 Yard Stare

Sam Mendes has created a terrible and barbarous trek, one that we appreciate all the more for being catapulted right into the midst of this ear-splitting melee from the film's opening sequence. More>>

Howard Davis: 1917's 1,000 Yard Stare

Sam Mendes has created a terrible and barbarous trek, one that we appreciate all the more for being catapulted right into the midst of this ear-splitting melee from the film's opening sequence. More>>

Over 150 Productions: NZ Fringe 2020 Has Launched

The upcoming festival will be held at 40 venues all over Wellington Region from 28 February to 21 March, and includes every genre possible—theatre, comedy, dance, music, clowning, cabaret, visual art, children’s shows and more! More>>





  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland