Education Policy | Post Primary | Preschool | Primary | Tertiary | Search


Finalists announced for Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards

The ten tertiary teachers finding success in New Zealand’s Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards for 2019 have been announced today.

The finalists will celebrate at parliament on the 30th October, with guests from across the tertiary sector, at a ceremony hosted by Hon Chris Hipkins, Minister of Education.

Kaupapa Māori category awards have been awarded to two outstanding teachers this year; Dr Ngarino Ellis from The University of Auckland, who is the only Māori art historian teaching in a New Zealand university, and Associate Professor Mera Penehira, a Kaupapa Māori teacher from Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi.

This is the first year of the awards (since its inception in 2001) that a teacher representing a wānanga has been selected. Ako Aotearoa Director, Helen Lomax is delighted with the change. “We know that excellent teaching has been occurring in this sector for a long time, so it’s great to finally have an award recipient, and their wānanga, recognised at a national level through these Awards.”

The ten finalists are:
• Peter Bier, Department of Engineering Science, The University of Auckland
• Andrew Eberhard, Business School, The University of Auckland
• Dr Ngarino Ellis, Art History, The University of Auckland
• Associate Professor Andrew Luxton-Reilly, School of Computer Science, The University of Auckland
• Associate Professor Kathryn MacCallum, School of Computer Science, Eastern Institute of Technology
• Dr David McMorran, Department of Chemistry, University of Otago
• Dr Masayoshi Ogino, Department of Global, Cultural and Language Studies, University of Canterbury
• Associate Professor Mera Penehira, School of Indigenous Graduate Studies, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi
• Dr Heather Purdie, Department of Geography, also from University of Canterbury
• Dr Cami Sawyer, Institute of Fundamental Sciences, Massey University

Ako Aotearoa is leading the change to broaden the diversity and inclusivity of nominees entering these national awards. Helen Lomax adds, “While we anticipate these changes will take some years to gain traction, we are delighted to see early impact through the success of staff at Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi and regional ITP, Eastern Institute of Technology.”

Read more about the ten finalists on the Ako Aotearoa website.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Emerald Fennell's Promising Young Woman'

The Guardian needed not one, but three reviews to do justice to Fennell's unsettling approach, which indicates exactly how ambiguous and controversial its message really is. More>>

Howard Davis: Jill Trevelyan's Rita Angus

Although Angus has become one of Aotearoa’s best-loved painters, the story of her life remained little known and poorly understood before Jill Trevelyan's acclaimed and revelatory biography, which won the Non Fiction Award at the Montana New Zealand Book Awards in 2009, and has now been republished by Te Papa press. More>>

Howard Davis: The Back of the Painting

Painting conservators are the forensic pathologists of the art world. While they cannot bring their subjects back to life, they do provide fascinating insights into the precise circumstances of a painting's creation, its material authenticity, and constructive methodology. More>>

Howard Davis: Black Panthers on the Prowl

A passionate and gripping political drama from Shaka King, this is an informative and instructive tale of human frailty that centers around the charismatic Chicago Black Panther leader Fred Hampton, who was murdered at the age of twenty-one during a police raid. More>>

Howard Davis: Controlling the High Ground

Stephen Johnson's raw and angry film not only poses important questions with scrupulous authenticity, but also provides a timely reminder of the genocidal consequences of casual bigotry and xenophobia. More>>

Howard Davis: Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's The Dry

After the terrible devastation caused by last year’s bushfires, which prompted hundreds of Australians to shelter in the ocean to escape incineration and destroyed uncountable amounts of wildlife, The Dry has been released during a totally different kind of dry spell. More>>

Howard Davis: Hit the Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's Nomadland

Nomadland is perhaps the ultimately 'road' movie as it follows a group of dispossessed and disenfranchised vagabonds who find a form of communal refuge in camp sites and trailer parks after the economic contraction of 2008. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland